Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-17-2006, 09:16 AM   #1
808
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 56
Sump problem

So i finally finished my DIY sump, got it all hooked up to the return piping, and did a test run. Roughly 20gal sump, in to a 55 gal main, with a mag 7 return pump. The problem is that my mag is pumping the water so fast that it drains the return section, causing it to suck up air and fill the tank with bubbles. I have a ball valve on it, and i have to close it pretty much halfway to slow the pump down enough so it doesn't suck all the water. Is this because of my overflow not flowing fast enough? It's rated for tanks 75-100 gal. It drains in to a 1" bulkhead. I figured this would be good enough as i have a 55gal. Anything i can do to try fix this, aside from closing the valve? Is my overflow just not able to keep up?

Another quick question. How much pressure am i losing with this setup on my return piping? Floor to top of tank is 4', and i pump up 2' before i tee it off. It runs to the left and right of the tank, with 4 "arms" that then pump up the final 2' to the tank. Would i have been better off just sending the water straight up the 4', splitting with the tee, and then put my returns in? Only during my test run i realized that pumping up 2' on 4 return arms totally kills my pressure...but would it make that much of a difference that i should redo my piping?
__________________

__________________
808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2006, 09:23 AM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
If the pump is draining the sump, I assume there is plenty of water in the tank to equalize. The pump will fill the tank first of course. I think with a 1" drain you might be at the limit with a mag 7. Although with the T in there and the pressure drop, I would think it might work. My frag tanks have a 1" drain and I throttle the Mag7 back a bit. You could try a ball valve to see if this helps but I don't normally recommend throttling a pump back like that permanently.

HTH
__________________

__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2006, 03:06 PM   #3
808
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 56
When i first tested it, i just thought that i needed to add more water to compensate for whatever filled the pipes, etc. But even when i did that, the pump just pushed it all to the main and emptied out the return section. I know the pump will fill the tank first, but to what point? I mean, if i keep adding water to the sump, wouldn't it eventually overflow the main and spill over the sides?
__________________
808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2006, 03:15 PM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
I assume you have a hang on overflow so the water has to be flowing through this. Is the tank draining to the sump while the pump is running? If the pump is too strong for the overflow, then yes it will overflow the tank.
The tank has to be full and the siphon on the overflow in use. What overflow are you using? A hang on overflow has to be started for it to work.
__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2006, 11:08 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 343
If it is a HOB then you could always add another one to help move the water faster if not keep the pump throttled back it should be fine as this has worked for me. If the tank is drilled then you can always put in a bigger drain.
__________________
angelscrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2006, 11:10 PM   #6
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
Throttling back is ok on some pumps but it is not good on the life of the pump.
__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2006, 02:16 AM   #7
808
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 56
I'm using a eshopps overflow i got at my lfs. http://www.eshopps.com/overflowboxes.php it's the PF-800 model. Yes, the overflow is siphoning water to the sump, just not fast enough to match the pump i guess. When i throttle back the pump with my ball valve then the sump can keep up. What if i bought another u-tube, and had 2 u-tubes siphoning to the overflow? Would that matter, or would i need to have another hose to carry the water to the sump?
__________________
808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2006, 08:18 AM   #8
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
Weird. An overflow rated for the size of the tank? That seems crazy. Size of the pump it can handle would be a better choice. Are you getting a full siphon through the Utube? No air at the top of the tube?
__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2006, 08:51 AM   #9
808
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 56
yup, no air bubble in the top of the siphon. i guess my overflow can't handle the pump cause i dunno what else there is.
__________________
808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2006, 10:09 AM   #10
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
Looks like it. I guess you will need a smaller pump, another overflow or just throttle your pump back. Mag pumps are pretty tough so you should be good.
__________________

__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sump Problem tntfish General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 10-24-2009 09:38 PM
Problem with sump+tank system jkoebel General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 08-11-2006 11:28 AM
Pro Clear Sump - How to put heater in sump & Questions.. TheChad Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 04-14-2006 07:39 PM
Newbie sump problem Vettin2nite General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 10 11-13-2005 10:09 AM
sump problem toadery Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 05-15-2005 09:43 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.