Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-19-2013, 02:11 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Phranque's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Miamisburg, OH
Posts: 1,443
Yes, as evaporation occurs, you will need to top off with RODI water. When tank water evaporates, it leaves behind the salt & minerals, so as more water evaporates, your salinity will increase, and will need to be re-diluted with unsalted RODI......

Check your salinity, getting it where you want it, then take a sharpie marker or piece of masking tape and make a mark at the current water line, then check it the following day at roughly the same time..... I can guarantee it will be lower. You will need to refill back up to your mark with unsalted RODI.
__________________

__________________
Wanna calculate the cost of that new reef tank?? Take your worst nightmare, double it, and you're halfway there.
Phranque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 02:13 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Phranque's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Miamisburg, OH
Posts: 1,443
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stlrockguy View Post
I have an ato but haven't set it up yet

What kind of ATO do you have?
__________________

__________________
Wanna calculate the cost of that new reef tank?? Take your worst nightmare, double it, and you're halfway there.
Phranque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 02:18 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Stlrockguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Springfield, Missouri
Posts: 1,179
Ok so it won't stay all the way full no matter what. I have a jbj from bulk reef supply
__________________
Stlrockguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 02:34 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Phranque's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Miamisburg, OH
Posts: 1,443
No. And I wouldn't keep it full, either, especially if you have an in-sump skimmer. I keep my return chamber level at the point where it just backfills to the top when the system is shut off, like a power outage. When you adjust your skimmer, you're setting it for the given water level it sits in (if it's an in-sump model)..... If the power goes out, the water level will rise in your sump, and if you keep your return chamber full while the power is running, then if the power goes off, the entire sump will rise in level..... when the power comes back on, the skimmer will overflow before the return pump can bring the water level back down to normal.
__________________
Wanna calculate the cost of that new reef tank?? Take your worst nightmare, double it, and you're halfway there.
Phranque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 09:43 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jeffaquarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stlrockguy View Post
It didn't come with the sponge or the bulk head screen. I'm working on finding that stuff. It seems to be coming from the sump whenever it blows out air into the water. I stuck a piece of airline into my drain. Helped a little
You need a rigid or stiff plastic tube like straw to be inserted at the center of the overflow tube. It acts as a breather or silencer. You can make an improvised strainer with a hole on top and insert that straw.
__________________
"Nothing great in the world has ever been accomplished without passion". George Wilhelm Friedrich Hegel

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=90w86...A434PW3gEa1-QA
jeffaquarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 11:34 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Stlrockguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Springfield, Missouri
Posts: 1,179
Thanks guys for all the info I'll try it out
__________________
Stlrockguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 06:06 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Stlrockguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Springfield, Missouri
Posts: 1,179
I got it running pretty good now. Took a ton of tuning and it seems my skimmer is broke in. Took 3 days. Thanks guys
__________________

__________________
Stlrockguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.