Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 03-25-2006, 11:45 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Sump question

Hello everyone. I am new to saltwater and I'm feeling overwhelmed 8O . Could someone explain, in detail, a sump. Do I NEED to cut any wholes? What are some advantages of sumps? Disadvantages? I'm planning on setting up a FOWLR tank in a couple weeks/months. I have a small budget and I was wondering if I could save money by making any of the components at home (please keep in mind I'm not very Power tool savvy). What do I NEED to make a sump work? Thanks in advance

PS-I have had abundant success in freshwater for 4+ years.

willyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2006, 04:13 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
A sump is by no means neccessary.... but it is a very nice thing to have. It allows you to have a larger amount of total system volume, which is much better for maintaining water quality because fluctuations in parameters go less noticed. It also allows you to hide all of your equipment like heaters, probes, thermometers, protein skimmers etc. You can also create a separate compartment within the sump for a refugium, that can be used for pod proliferation as well as nutrient export via macroalgaes etc. Those are some of the advantages.

Here's an article for more info:

As far as disadvantages go... Not many I can think of other than extra cost and potential headaches from designing, sizing and incorporating them. Well worth it though, IMO.