Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 05-24-2012, 09:06 PM   #1

Switching from FOWLR to Reef?

Hello!

So I'm new to saltwater and have started up a 10 gallon FOWLR tank. It's nothing special, just a simple design for a first timer. It's nearly done cycling by now and I expect to be adding fish any day now.

Anyways, after digging a little deeper into the saltwater aquarium world, I've discovered a love for corals.

So I was just wondering if it's possible to switch from FOWLR to reef after all the fish are inside, or even before.

I'm not saying I 100% want to, but I'm considering it. My only turn-off is that I hear corals are hard to keep. I heard mushroom corals are good for beginners. Is this true? If I'm switching to reef, I only want photosynthetic corals, and ones that are easy to keep and hardy.

Or should I just stick with FOWLR for now, considering this is my first saltwater tank?

I'm heavily debating how to go, so any advice will be much appreciated. What do you think I should do?

Thanks!

Old 05-24-2012, 09:39 PM   #2
SW 20 & Over Club

Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
The main difference is you need better lighting in a reef tank to keep corals. You also have to keep a better eye on your maintenance routine. Corals can be unforgiving as far as water quality.

Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 09:41 PM   #3

Well I'm a beginner so that might be hard. Are there any hardy corals that are a little more forgiving to tiny mistakes?

And if you do make a mistake, will only the corals die or will something more drastic happen?
Old 05-24-2012, 09:46 PM   #4
SW 20 & Over Club