Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-30-2014, 01:43 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
acolotto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 388
Switching hob filter for phosban reactor?

Hey guys,

So I just ordered the two little fishies phosban reactor 150 with the mj600. I also ordered two little fishies hydrocarbon and phosban. Now my question is can I just take off my hob filter and replace it with the phosban reactor or should I leave the hob filter on? I have a 55 gallon mixed reef that's been up for 3 years and no sump. Also can I run Carbon and phosban at the same time or should I switch month to month? Also this will be the first time I run phosban on my system do I have to do it in small amounts at first?

Thank you for any help and advice in advance
__________________

__________________
acolotto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 02:11 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Jtisle506's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 182
Well I hope you have luck with a phosban b/c i had mine for 2 months, it cracked and i upgraded. Many people have had success tho so maybe it was just me. Anyway yes you can run carbon and GFO ( the media for phosphate removal). But I would not recommended both in the same canister. They require different flow rates. Start out with the recommendation that will most likely be on the media container then go from there. I would ditch the HOB filter as IMO and hob filters on saltwater reefs are junk and hogging space. Invest in another reactor for biopellets or carbon and get yourself a high quality skimmer. I dont have a sump and this is my equipment list. Reef Octo BH-2000 skimmer, Next Reef MR 1 reactor (phosphate), JBJ ATO with BRS 50ml per min pump, 2BRS 1.1ml pumps for 2-part, also I have vega LED's, Jebao pumps and a Jšger Hearer. I have switched most of my equipment twice and think i got the best combination. Now I just have to add a Biopellet reactor and I'll be set.
__________________

__________________
Jtisle506 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 02:16 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
acolotto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 388
My system has been up for 3 years have a bh 2000 on it as well. It's an established reef just wanted to try some new equipment out and ditch the hob even though it has done well for 3 yrs. But this is my first reactor and just want to make sure I'm not to run into issues switching the two.
__________________
acolotto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 11:06 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Jtisle506's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 182
If I were you i would still keep the HOB filter tho. I read about people without sumps turn them into small Refugiums for pod populations. How is your BH-2000 been treating you, seems like its the best HOB skimmer ever! I also added some mods to quiet it down, i made an acrylic square that fit on top of the drain area that stopped the gurgle and also added a dense fabric to the piping so the water would quiet. Almost have it whisper quiet. But keep updating the thread as we can always help along the way. Do you plan to run Carbon or GFO? And what brand are you looking at?
__________________
Jtisle506 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 11:11 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
acolotto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 388
Switching hob filter for phosban reactor?

I got two little fishes hydrocarbon 2 gac and two little fishies phosban so I was thinking of starting with phosban then switching between the two every month until I get another reactor

Also I love the skimmer way better then the sea clone I had for the first couple yrs lol
__________________
acolotto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2014, 04:26 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
acolotto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 388
Alright I got my phosban reactor today and going to set it up after work...was planning on doing half the recommended dosage of 55 grams so 22.5 for the first month then next change 75% then 100% the following? Is this good or can I just do the whole 55 grams right away?
__________________
acolotto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2014, 06:53 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
MarinaClown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA
Posts: 790
Julian Sprung recommends using half dosage in the beginning. Some people lose fish when they go all out from the start. There is a good review of the reactor online. It might be by reef builders or another site.
I'm thinking about doing what you doing. Best way to measure things to to test water weekly and notice any changes for better or worse. Good luck and keep us posted.
__________________
60 Gallon SPS dominated reef tank.
MarinaClown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2014, 07:00 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
I would keep the hang on filter as well as the reactor. The reactor is just an added piece of equipment, it wont replace what the hob filter does.

I happen to like the 2 little fishies reactor, they are one of the few that hasnt clogged for me.
__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2014, 07:02 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
acolotto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 388
Yea my tank is Params are good besides the occasional cyano outbreak when I get feeding happy when a new critter is placed in tank (gotta make sure they eat lol)...but figured that this really couldn't hurt...also ordered a Hanna phosphate tester today should be here Monday or Tuesday so I'll be able to test accurately for phosphates now if Hanna just made a affordable nitrate tester
__________________
acolotto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2014, 07:05 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
The hanna testers are absolutely awesome! I use both the phosphate one and alkalinity ones. The calcium one is crap and is not very reliable at all plus its a pain to use. I returned mine to brs when I couldnt get an accurate reading.
__________________

__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
chi, filter, hob, hob filter, reactor

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switching from HOB to canister. time before I can remove HOB turbovr6 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 05-27-2007 03:29 PM
Phosban Reactor - Little Fishes version fishman General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 01-02-2006 09:40 PM
plumbing phosban reactor and UV sterilizer steve r Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 05-27-2005 05:26 PM
PhosBan Reactor ASpec Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 5 03-24-2005 02:12 PM
Phosban Reactor 150 awillemd1 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 01-03-2005 08:05 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.