Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-13-2007, 07:40 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 327
Switching Sumps

Tonight I am going to be removing the current sump and replacing it witha larger, more effecient one, but first a couple of questions. First of all, I have a 29 gallon tank with a 15 gallon sump. I decided to bump it up to a 20 gallon sump with more chambers in it. Should I use the same sand that was in the previous sump in the new one or can I replace it with some new live sand that I bought? I dont want to mess with the bacteria and was thinking about going half old sand and half new sand, but wanted some opinions first. Secondly, I want to add mud later on, maybe in a week or two, but which goes on top, the mud or the sand. And is mud even worth it? Lastly, since the tank is larger my skimmer (coralife) is going to be converted from hob to in sump. Is there any difference between the two methods? TIA........
__________________

__________________
Squado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2007, 08:06 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NJ
Posts: 662
You can use the same sand but why would you want to change it? Isn't it live or did you have some sort of problem?
__________________

__________________
C/
chase33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2007, 10:06 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: North Boston, New York
Posts: 62
I just did the same thing this weekend, well replace my sump with a larger one.

I moved my HOB skimmer into the sump area awhile back, it hangs off the sump on the outside back. Works fine, not the easiest thing to get too.
__________________
GO SABRES!
KurtsReef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2007, 08:10 AM   #4
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,244
IMO I would suggest new sand and seed it with some of the old sand. A few cups maybe. I never realized how nasty sand could get till I changed tanks and saw how filthy it was. I also have the mud in mine and it has to go on the bottom of your tank with the sand on top of it or you`ll have alot of the mud all over your tank. Mine is on the bottom with 3 inches of sand on top. Good Luck on the changeover.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2007, 08:40 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 327
Well the switch over went pretty well, although I ran into a couple of problems. I decided to go with all new sand, as I noticed that the old sand had a lot of cyano on it. I rinsed the new sand before putting in the tank and the tank is still a little cloudy, 24 hours later. Anyway, being the fool that I can be, I forgot to glue the bottom of the walls, so the water is running over the top and bottom (I had to rush the process since my old sump was leaking a lot of water out of the corners). It actually looks kind of cool the way the sand is constantly "bubbling" up on the side of the walls. But will this affect the performance of the sump? Their were two main problems that I ran into too. One, since the bottom of the walls arent glued, the chambers do not affect the the height of the water, its not neccesarily a problem, just doesnt make the water flow the way I wanted too. Is there any way to fix this now that the sump is already estabilished. I was thinking about using some sort of rubber lining that you can find in most hardware stores. Also, after the change half of my zoo polyps covered themselves in a web. I tried to remove as much as I could with a turkey baster, but I couldnt keep up. Today the half that was covered in the web have not opened up. I guess it was from the stress, but all of my other corals seem to be doing better than before. Has anyone else run into this problem while changing sumps? I'll post some pics a little later to see if you guys have any suggestions, as they are always welcome from the experts.........
__________________
Squado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2007, 08:58 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: philadelphia. PA.
Posts: 2,679
Keep in mind when marking the max. water level, not having each chamber sealed means evaporation is going to occur in the whole sump, not just return chamber. Also, more importantly, if your overflow fails, the return pump is going to pump ALL the water from the sump up into the main.

The zoos just sound stressed. Keep an eye on them.
__________________
Mike
MT79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2007, 09:14 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 327
Wow, great point on the return pump pumping all the water out of the sump. Good thing you reminded me on that. What do you guys think about using a rubber lining to block the bottom of the walls? It will most likely be a pain to install, but obviously worth it if its possible.
__________________
Squado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2007, 01:08 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: philadelphia. PA.
Posts: 2,679
I think you have some work to do...
I had to remake my first sump. You definitely will not be the first person to have to lug a new sump out to fix an oversight. I don't think you have any other options.
__________________

__________________
Mike
MT79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
chi, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sumps? FriscoTX General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 03-02-2006 06:35 PM
Sumps chris stevens General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 03-01-2006 09:51 PM
Sumps sumps and more sumps sango General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 14 02-02-2006 03:01 AM
Sumps LittleParr Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 12-26-2005 12:03 PM
Sumps GoodFish General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 04-15-2005 08:40 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.