Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-28-2004, 11:15 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: ohio
Posts: 440
Switching to Ro/Di , do I need to start dosing anything?

Well I am switching to ro/di when my unit gets here I was told that regular water changes work fine in keeping calc and iodine levels respectable. Now with pure water will I need to dose?

One guy I know uses the pickle lime stuff seems to like it.I dont have ant hard corals just rock a few zoo's and colt frag.

What is the best easiest way to reintroduce lost mineral's etc...

thanx
__________________

__________________
kidkameleon3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2004, 11:57 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
The salt will add any minerals needed, without any stoney corals, regular water changes should be fine to maintain CA and ALK. I wouldn't add anything to the water
__________________

__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2004, 01:01 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 1,022
Send a message via AIM to Anemoneman Send a message via Yahoo to Anemoneman
Quote:
What is the best easiest way to reintroduce lost mineral's etc...
You don't want to introduce those in your water. That's why you got an RO/DI filter - to get rid of the minerals, nitrate, phosphate, chlorine, flouride, heavy metals, etc., etc. from your source water. That way when you mix your SW you are adding trace elements and salt in a measured and controlled manner.
Not to contradict Kevin 8O but I would dose calcium if you are unable to maintain a high level of Ca to encourage encrusting coraline algae and Halimeda to grow. Get a Ca & Alk test kit and measure it, it's the only way to know where you're at.
__________________
Mark
Anemoneman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2004, 05:11 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: ohio
Posts: 440
doesn't the ro/di water remove ca ? Thats mainly why I am asking that and I here iodine is needed
__________________
kidkameleon3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2004, 05:21 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
RO/DI removes everything from the water, ideally. The salt mix will have CA and should mix to a proper ALK.

If the demand is not high on your system, regular water changes should be enough to maintain levels. As Mark pointed out, the only way to know for sure is to test.

Contrary to popular opinion, iodine is a poison, more than enough is added to the tank via waterchanges and feedings. There is no harm in adding iodine to NSW levels, but to do this you need a test kit and iodine test kits are highly unreliable. I do not add iodine to my system.
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2004, 05:38 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: ohio
Posts: 440
I see, what about all these guys with the kalkwasser and pickle lime stuff worth while? I got a bucket with a valve I can make a drip out of
__________________
kidkameleon3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2004, 05:51 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
If you have a CA demand, and cannot maintain CA by regular water changes, the use of kalkwasser (aka pickling lime) is one way to go, imo it's a good way, but that is debatable.
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2004, 07:02 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: ohio
Posts: 440
ok, I geuss I should just order a test kit and watch the levels for a bit , might dictate when I change it.Thanx again for all the help here
__________________

__________________
kidkameleon3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
chi, dosing, ro/di, start

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What dosing Regimine Should I start to follow? SWerner13 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 22 03-09-2009 01:37 AM
Want to start a refuge, dont know where to start Squado Saltwater Reef Aquaria 14 11-08-2008 04:21 PM
Wanting to Start a Planted Tank ... Dont Know Where to Start Viperboy Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 10 03-25-2006 07:48 PM
Pulse start, probe start, electronic?? What's up??? runway1 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 0 02-05-2005 01:09 AM
Want to start a coral/reef system...where to start? rdefino Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 10-19-2004 10:09 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.