Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
View Poll Results: 1 return pump or 2 return pumps?
1 Return Pump 12 70.59%
2 Return Pumps 5 29.41%
Voters: 17. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-26-2012, 05:31 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
mwilliams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 865
Taking a Poll for 1 return pump or 2 return pumps

Taking a Poll for 1 return pump or 2 return pumps

I have a dilemma here so I am creating a “Poll” need your opinions and reasons why you would choose one over the other..

I was told to get 2 return pumps incase if one should fail you still have one running the system till you can get the other fixed or replaced.
Then I was told to only get 1 return because 2 will use more electricity…..
So I would like to get a poll going here to see which would be the better choice:

1 Return Pump
Or
2 Return Pumps

Hope I did the poll thread correct....
Mary
__________________

__________________
mwilliams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 12:09 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Hardridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 410
I like one
__________________

__________________
Hardridge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 12:37 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Jlsardina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 2,581
Send a message via AIM to Jlsardina
One. Big pumps put off heat, use more electricity, and more than one pump will make the sump vibrate more. Lol
__________________
Jlsardina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 10:08 AM   #4
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,242
I have two in my 125. I have a mag 9.5 and a mag 12. More return pumps makes for more chaotic flow and no need for PH`s in the tank IME.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 10:08 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
mwilliams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 865
Thank you guys. I think I will be only getting one but will get a second one later as for a backup.
__________________
mwilliams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 10:22 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
mwilliams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 865
That is the same size tank I have now. A 125 reef ready getting ready to start setting it up. What about the space in between the two overflow boxes "dead space" if you have two would it help with that area as well?
__________________
mwilliams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 11:30 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bavass's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Waynesboro Virginia
Posts: 1,797
One nothing wrong with have an extra on hand to swap out if it fails but really only need one
__________________
bavass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 07:05 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oxford,England
Posts: 1,384
As you have a reef ready tank,go with as many pumps as your overflow pipe will handle,as mel has said it means less power heads,as for the cost of running them I dont think that should be an issue as you need good water flow through the tank,if you use one pump then you'll need powerheads,so go with two pumps and no powerheads
__________________
Old Chinese proverb:
Don't go to bed with ichy bum
wake up with smelly finger!!
David S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 07:29 AM   #9
RJT
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 272
I use 2 out of necessity. I could not find a tee that would fit the pump I was using. I use a pump for each overflow. And MP40's for powerheads.
__________________
RJT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 09:43 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
I would use a single pump. Keep a second as back up if you wish, but there will be less space taken up in the sump, one cord to deal with, one pump to clean/maintain, one impeller to replace.....
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
pump, pumps, return pump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.