Tangs.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Masoniac

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I know most people say no tang should be in 6ft tanks. I want to say I absolutely hate that rule and don't like whoever came up with it. Now I'm not saying you can keep one in a 20 gallon. I'm going to be adding a sailfin that isn't no bigger than a 50 cent coin into a 75 gallon. You can keep one in a smaller system till it eventually grows out of it. Just provide as much swimming room and as much places to hide as you can. I'm no expert when it comes to saltwater tanks. This is just my 2 cents because I hate when people say tang police and blah blah.

Sorry no tang should be in anything less than 6ft.

Many people grow out young tangs in smaller tanks. The rule refers to adult and larger tangs.

I've just been looking around on here and just see people post sadly tangs need a 6ft tank but don't tell them but the smaller the tangs can live happy in a 4ft.

But if you start with a small tang they will not stay small forever. You have a couple months at max until they will be too big. I don't buy fish just to trade them in for another fish, I buy them with the intention that they will live out their lives in my tank.

I happen to have a 6 foot tank and trust me, mine cant certainly be the most active tangs in the world but they utilize every inch of those six feet. I feel bad cause it's not an 8 foot tank.

There are dozens of horror stories of tangs going into too small of a tank and getting sick and dying. Or tangs that get stunted in their growth and never get big like nature intended. Putting a fish into your home requires that you do your very best for the fish and not be selfish when purchasing and caring for them.