Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-08-2013, 01:21 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jacobdlaw610's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 202
I appreciate the GOOD help and constructive criticism that I do get that's why I still come to this forum.
__________________

__________________
Jacobdlaw610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 01:29 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jeffaquarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,933
As I mentioned shocking your fish is a possibility when adding new equipment. I once used an old media bag that I rinsed well but somehow my fish showed some sign of uncomfort.
__________________

__________________
"Nothing great in the world has ever been accomplished without passion". George Wilhelm Friedrich Hegel

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=90w86...A434PW3gEa1-QA
jeffaquarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 01:31 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jacobdlaw610's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffaquarius View Post
As I mentioned shocking your fish is a possibility when adding new equipment. I once used an old media bag that I rinsed well but somehow my fish showed some sign of uncomfort.
You mentioned nothing of new equiptment. Thanks for your help. I will go with the gfo and carbon possibly dropped my phosphates to fast
__________________
Jacobdlaw610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 01:43 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jeffaquarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,933
New equipment requires adjusting volume of water and as I mentioned water parameter is one possibility. Sorry if you are offended of an indirect suggestion to get a more reliable test kit.
__________________
"Nothing great in the world has ever been accomplished without passion". George Wilhelm Friedrich Hegel

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=90w86...A434PW3gEa1-QA
jeffaquarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 02:59 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,569
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffaquarius View Post
I would have not used the same amm test kit for 2 years if I knew it would give me false readings. It is also possible that your other test kits are unreliable. It is unlikely that nitrate is 0. If it is accurate then another possibility of tank inhabitants dieing is they are exposed to sudden changes of water parameter such as temp, salinity, PH and etc.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacobdlaw610 View Post
I have API for ammonia and Red Sea for all my other tests so they are accurate thanks for bashing me and not answering my question about gfo huge help there buddy
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacobdlaw610 View Post
I appreciate the GOOD help and constructive criticism that I do get that's why I still come to this forum.
That is actually incredibly sound advice. No matter what brands you have if they are old then they might need to be replaced. The fact alone that your ammonia kit ALWAYS reads .25 means there is something wrong with it. I would seriously consider taking a sample of your water in to a lfs and getting it tested from different kits. For the record, API kits are generally accepted as an unreliable test kit and can give you bad results. They have always worked fine for me but other people have had issues.

Aside from that, how often do you top off your water and how much do you add at once?

What is your total equipment list on the tank?

Are you running a sump / refugium with macros?
__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 03:09 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Daniel Fishy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Jupiter Fla
Posts: 1,178
I added to much carbon before stripped the water and my corals shriveled up I did lose two the rest took about 5 weeks to completely reopen. I would add gfo and carbon in smaller increments or do one then wait a couple weeks to add the other. IMO to much change in the water to quick it will recover.
__________________
Daniel Fishy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 03:23 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jacobdlaw610's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mebbid View Post

That is actually incredibly sound advice. No matter what brands you have if they are old then they might need to be replaced. The fact alone that your ammonia kit ALWAYS reads .25 means there is something wrong with it. I would seriously consider taking a sample of your water in to a lfs and getting it tested from different kits. For the record, API kits are generally accepted as an unreliable test kit and can give you bad results. They have always worked fine for me but other people have had issues.

Aside from that, how often do you top off your water and how much do you add at once?

What is your total equipment list on the tank?

Are you running a sump / refugium with macros?
I have refugium with macro
Coralife skimmer
Ato
5 gallon water change every 7 th day

I have plenty of sps and lps everything grows and look great.
Once again I added gfo and carbon reactor and 2 days later the crash happened
__________________
Jacobdlaw610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 03:37 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jwh0818's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Harlingen, TX
Posts: 5,563
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacobdlaw610 View Post

I have refugium with macro
Coralife skimmer
Ato
5 gallon water change every 7 th day

I have plenty of sps and lps everything grows and look great.
Once again I added gfo and carbon reactor and 2 days later the crash happened
Then I would assume that taking out the carbon reactor and gfo would help fix it
__________________
Fluffy's History!
jwh0818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 03:53 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
huma-huma's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: washington Pa
Posts: 5,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacobdlaw610
It's a crappy ammonia test kit it always says .25..
you cant even count this ammonia test at all then. So in reality we dont know what the ammonia levels are at. Not saying its impossible but i dont see adding gfo and carbon as the reason why your tank crashed. Gfo removes phosphates and carbon pulls out impurities and chems. Nothing there that i would think could swing your ph or other parameters.
__________________
my 125g Sw...Round 2!http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...220171-33.html
ever see someone cut a 125g in half??
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...-286438-4.html
huma-huma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 04:20 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jacobdlaw610's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 202
Got a Red Sea kit just now ammonia is 0
__________________

__________________
Jacobdlaw610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.