Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-08-2013, 05:45 PM   #31
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jacobdlaw610's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniperhank View Post
The gfo was rinsed and didn't run into he tank right? I'm really stretching my imagination to figure out which way the gfo could cause a crash.
Ya I ran into a bucket I read somewhere that running gfo on established tank could cause a drastic drop in phosphates and shock the tank that was my concern.
__________________

__________________
Jacobdlaw610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 05:48 PM   #32
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,550
But 1/4 a cup isn't a lot. That is tablespoons basically.
__________________

Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 05:51 PM   #33
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jacobdlaw610's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniperhank View Post
But 1/4 a cup isn't a lot. That is tablespoons basically.
Agreed but I am grasping for an explaination
__________________
Jacobdlaw610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 05:54 PM   #34
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,550
I understand. I'm trying to use my tank as a base standard as I've made gfo mistakes on it. In the end I ditched gfo. Could never get it to tumble right. Working with resins right now and like it so far.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 06:08 PM   #35
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jacobdlaw610's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 202
I feel I had a real light tumble and a small stream out the return. I have ran carbon before this is my first gfo experience I bought the whole dual reactor kit from brs
__________________
Jacobdlaw610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 06:09 PM   #36
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,550
I run the sale reactor. Could never get the gfo tumbling right. Hate the stuff...and I'm sure you do right now too.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 06:13 PM   #37
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jacobdlaw610's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniperhank View Post
I run the sale reactor. Could never get the gfo tumbling right. Hate the stuff...and I'm sure you do right now too.
Ha yeah maybe if that's what caused my problem I thought I was doing a good thing for my corals but I don't think I worked slow enough
__________________
Jacobdlaw610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 07:38 PM   #38
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
A few weeks ago I tried running gfo on my 60g tank. I did not rinse it, kinda forgot and my tank was covered in brown gfo particles for almost a week. I did a huge water change to get it out and it was fine. i didnt lose any fish or anything. GFO will not kill your fish unless there was something in it. A drop in phosphates, even if very large will not kill fish. It might make corals unhappy for a bit but thats it. There has to be something we're missing.

Sorry for your losses, it happens to the best of us.
__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 07:56 PM   #39
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jeffaquarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,933
It seems that everyone is focused on gfo and carbon reactor when the obvious problem is the ammonia. If you have a phosphate problem the nitrate should not be 0. You might be running your tank in the brink even before you got those new chemical filters. Fish can withstand phospate and nitrate but not ammonia or nitrite. As huma huma stated your bb might not be enough that is why no nitrite or nitrate.
__________________
"Nothing great in the world has ever been accomplished without passion". George Wilhelm Friedrich Hegel

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=90w86...A434PW3gEa1-QA
jeffaquarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 07:59 PM   #40
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,550
I believe we covered that with running it with a new test...correct?
__________________

Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.