Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-27-2013, 09:49 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 113
Tank cycle

I set up a new tank a few days ago and I put a crab in there to start the cycle and the nitrites and trates are 0 the ph is 7.8 and the ammonia is .25 would I be able to put fish in there yet or should I wait?
__________________

__________________
Rmonson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 09:52 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
Nope. Using a hermit crab isnt going to cycle your tank, unless you mean an actual piece of crab meat. lol You need to supply an ammonia source and watch the ammonia rise, then the nitrites and then the nitrates. After that is all said and done you should have 0 ammonia, 0 nitrite and high nitrates. You then do a water change to get the nitrates down and THEN you can add fish slowly.

It usually takes anywhere from a couple weeks to a month pr two to cycle a tank. Unless you use all live rock in which case your cycle could be alot shorter.
__________________

__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 09:54 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 113
Wouldn't the waste from the crab help start it?
__________________
Rmonson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 09:57 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
That'd have to be one big crab. lol The waste from a crab isnt going to give you a good ammonia source unfortunately. I use pure ammonia from ace hardware but the preferrred method is to use a store bought shrimp and toss it in. The higher your ammonia goes the better the cycle and the more beneficial bacteria you will have to process fish waste.
__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 10:57 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 113
What about that bacteria you can add and add fish the same day would that work?
__________________
Rmonson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 11:05 PM   #6
Macro Addict
Community Moderator
 
54seaweed's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 7,534
nothing good comes from rushing
a tank needs to cycle 4 to 6 weeks and needs a good ammonia source like a deli shrimp
to get started
__________________
Save
54seaweed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 02:03 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
Bacteria in a bottle is not really a solution, in my opinion it's a bunch of hooey. lol I mean how long could something live in a bottle that sits on a shelf for who knows how long? Just cycle like everyone else and you will be assured that your tank is good.
__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 02:42 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jeffaquarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rmonson View Post
What about that bacteria you can add and add fish the same day would that work?
The right time to put the first fish in your tank is when the water parameter readings are good. That being said you need to have a Test Kit so you will know what is the condition of your tank.
__________________

__________________
jeffaquarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.