Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-28-2013, 08:04 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 277
We used as much as we could if it wasnt too cloudy. We made new salt water to match the temp and salinity as the old tank
__________________

__________________
furrymurray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 08:06 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,320
Yes, be sure to use tank water you drained before you stirred everything up. New sand might be in order, or rinse in saltwater the old sand to get the detritus out of it.
__________________

__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 08:23 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
You don't need to use old water at all. As long as the parameters are the same. Water doesn't really have any bacteria in it so as long as you have your rock transferred you should be fine. If the sand was old I wouldn't use it because there could be a lot of junk.
__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 08:49 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Hondachico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 364
Ok this is a lot of info thank again guys, more info appreciated if anybody wants to chip in
__________________
Hondachico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 09:00 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,320
Quote:
Originally Posted by crister13 View Post
You don't need to use old water at all. As long as the parameters are the same. Water doesn't really have any bacteria in it so as long as you have your rock transferred you should be fine. If the sand was old I wouldn't use it because there could be a lot of junk.
Sorry, but that isn't quite correct. Reef quality water from a tank has 40 times the bacterial count as raw seawater. But as mentioned, the rock is the most important.

http://www.fishchannel.com/saltwater...-bacteria.aspx
__________________

__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle, leaking

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.