Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-28-2013, 02:43 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Hondachico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 364
Tank leaking, got a new tank, fastest cycle?

I have a 35g hex which started to leak not so long ago and I got a biocube off of Craig's and I wanted to see how fast I can transport my guys from the hex to the nano??
__________________

__________________
Hondachico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 03:36 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,325
If you transport the sand and rocks, there may be very little cycling.
__________________

__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 04:00 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Hondachico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 364
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregcoyote View Post
If you transport the sand and rocks, there may be very little cycling.
I heard from someone once that sand isn't important, I was going to transfer rock and water with new sand, good bad idk??
__________________
Hondachico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 04:03 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
scuba dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 347
If the cube is established save all the water , live rock , sand. Drain the water , rock into cooler transport and reset it in the new location. I left everything else alone and only needed to add around one gallon of water afterwords.

I did a 29 gallon cube 2 weeks ago and it worked perfect. 2 1/2 hours total time with a half hour drive between locations.
__________________
scuba dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 04:09 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Hondachico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 364
Quote:
Originally Posted by scuba dude View Post
If the cube is established save all the water , live rock , sand. Drain the water , rock into cooler transport and reset it in the new location. I left everything else alone and only needed to add around one gallon of water afterwords.

I did a 29 gallon cube 2 weeks ago and it worked perfect. 2 1/2 hours total time with a half hour drive between locations.
Ok the problem is here, I have a 35g hex and now I also have a 29g cube the cube is dry and was dry for awhile, it was also used for fresh, and I need to transfer everything from the 35 to the cube.
__________________
Hondachico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 04:36 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
scuba dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 347
Sorry , Guess I misunderstood what you were doing.

Would still think it would be fairly quick for you though. Hope it works out for you.
__________________
scuba dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 04:53 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Hondachico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 364
Quote:
Originally Posted by scuba dude View Post
Sorry , Guess I misunderstood what you were doing.

Would still think it would be fairly quick for you though. Hope it works out for you.
It's ok I'm still trying to seek help, please anybody???
__________________
Hondachico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 05:01 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 277
I helped my daughter switch out a broken 75 to a 125. The new tank had to go into the same spot so we broken 75 gallon down. Put fish and corals into large tubs with powerheads and heaters. Also put rocks into 5 gallon buckets with tank water. We threw out the sand because it smelled really bad when we scooped it out and just replaced it with new. And put everything back. Tanks was cloudy for a day or so but everything was fine
__________________
furrymurray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 07:57 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Hondachico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 364
Quote:
Originally Posted by furrymurray View Post
I helped my daughter switch out a broken 75 to a 125. The new tank had to go into the same spot so we broken 75 gallon down. Put fish and corals into large tubs with powerheads and heaters. Also put rocks into 5 gallon buckets with tank water. We threw out the sand because it smelled really bad when we scooped it out and just replaced it with new. And put everything back. Tanks was cloudy for a day or so but everything was fine
How about water, what did u do with the water?
__________________
Hondachico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 08:04 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,325
I would make up new water and use maybe use 1/4 old water. That way any bacterial matter suspended in the water will cross over and I think it helps "season" the water in the new tank. JIMO
__________________

__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle, leaking

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.