Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-06-2013, 11:08 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Scooterdragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 131
Tank rebuild

I'm thinking of adding a sump to my 55 gallon reef tank If I pull it all apart and put everything in separate containers ( rock and sand) and Qt the fish How long before I can set back up
__________________

__________________
Scooterdragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 01:57 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Ljfdfireboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 148
Just out of curiosity why are you taring down the tank to add a sump. Why not just go with a overflow box? Much cheaper and less stress on fish and corals. I added a eshopps box on a 75 reef I had setup and it worked great and was silent too. I had started with out a sump and added one. Hardest part was sliding the tank out from the wall to get the sump in from the back as it wouldn't fit through the doors.
__________________

__________________
120 Mixed Reef Tank.
20g Fresh.
Ljfdfireboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 02:05 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Alberta canada
Posts: 2,360
Send a message via Skype™ to kdpuffer
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ljfdfireboy View Post
Just out of curiosity why are you taring down the tank to add a sump. Why not just go with a overflow box? Much cheaper and less stress on fish and corals. I added a eshopps box on a 75 reef I had setup and it worked great and was silent too. I had started with out a sump and added one. Hardest part was sliding the tank out from the wall to get the sump in from the back as it wouldn't fit through the doors.
I second this, just get a hang on overflow box. 55g are usually tempered from what I've read so you can't drill it anyways. Save getting a drilled tank for your next upgrade.
__________________
kdpuffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 02:02 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Scooterdragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 131
The only overflow box that seems to have a solid response from everyone who has owed one is the lifereef and I can almost get a drilled tank for that price at my lfs
__________________
Scooterdragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 02:13 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Austin,tx
Posts: 1,699
The life reef over flow is solid but expensive. If you have it drilled and use PVC, I would wait like three or four days to set the tank back up. Just to make sure the glue has cured. 2 days at the least.
__________________
Bige is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 10:07 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Scooterdragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 131
I do like the thought of the overflow box if I didn't live in a upstairs apartment where a minor 15 flood could be Real Bad News
__________________

__________________
Scooterdragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.