Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-23-2005, 11:45 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Spring Hill, FL
Posts: 1,365
Tank up and running ... few questions?

Well the day finally arrived, I set up my tank on friday the 20th. I ended up using 40lbs of Un-cured Fiji and about 30lbs of CaribSea aragonite and 15lbs of CaribSea Aragalive! Everything looks BEAUTIFUL!!!

Went to the grocery store and asked the seafood guy for one uncooked -unseasoned coctail shrimp ... after some CRAZY looks and many questions He gave me the shrimp! So I get home throw it in there, kinda in the corner under one of my PH's ... and sat back! to my amazment NOTHING happened .... HAHAHAHA wishful thinking huh?

Well 3 days later ... Today. I wake up to find the shrimp looks like a big BLOB of GOO! The tank doesn't smell or anything so I decided to do a quick test on my Ph and Ammonia. Ph=8.2ish and Ammonia=0.5ish ??????? Temp is right around 77, SG 1.024-5ish

questions,

My Ph ... higher/lower/or perfect?

I should see the Ammonia rise over the next few days correct?

And is my SG to high? when I say .024-5ish I mean it may even be as high .027, the cheapo hydrometer is GONE!

When do I remove the shrimp or do I?

and last but not least, should I be testing for trites and trates at this point?

Thanks,
Jermz
__________________

__________________
God grant me the serenity to accept the thing's I can not change, the courage to change the thing's I can and the wisdom to know the difference!

R.I.P Walena K. Cox
7/7/62 - 8/11/2002
Jermz79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2005, 12:57 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, California
Posts: 819
PH is fine... no worries
Am should rise over the next few days... yes.
SG is right, although .027 is high... don't let it go past .025 IMO. Those cheapy hydrometers are notorious for being off.
Don't remove the shrimp... it'll dissolve completely. You may have to add in another after that if your am/trite are still high... if no shrimp is there, then nothing will fuel the cycle.
Wait about a week to test trite... trate can go after that.
__________________

__________________
~~Rob
RLG2182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2005, 03:04 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Spring Hill, FL
Posts: 1,365
another question I just thought about?

I should be doing top off's right? I haven't had any evaporation yet, but I'm sure I will within the cycle period.
__________________
God grant me the serenity to accept the thing's I can not change, the courage to change the thing's I can and the wisdom to know the difference!

R.I.P Walena K. Cox
7/7/62 - 8/11/2002
Jermz79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2005, 03:56 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: St Petersburg Fl
Posts: 603
Send a message via AIM to pearsont74 Send a message via Yahoo to pearsont74
you will have to in order to keep the SG correct....as water evaporates...the SG will increase cause the salt doesnt evaporate...
__________________
check my site out --> www.coppernreef.com
pearsont74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2005, 04:24 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Spring Hill, FL
Posts: 1,365
When would be the best time to do top off's, meaning when I notice the water level drop below what it initially was or is there some rule of thumb to go by ... maybe an 1" or 2" drop?
__________________
God grant me the serenity to accept the thing's I can not change, the courage to change the thing's I can and the wisdom to know the difference!

R.I.P Walena K. Cox
7/7/62 - 8/11/2002
Jermz79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2005, 04:32 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: St Petersburg Fl
Posts: 603
Send a message via AIM to pearsont74 Send a message via Yahoo to pearsont74
do you have a sump?
I marked my sump with a sharpy and when it gets to the line i add a gal
I have 2 lines....a water level line (where the water should be) and add water line (when the water gets down to this line i add water up the level line)

this sounds dumb but it makes it simple in a not so simple hobby
__________________
check my site out --> www.coppernreef.com
pearsont74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2005, 04:37 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Spring Hill, FL
Posts: 1,365
Nope don't have a sump! I guess as a general rule I use the plastic border around the top of the tank for my "Full" line. I guess if it drops below this it's probably time to add some water huh?



Quote:
Originally Posted by pearsont74
makes it simple in a not so simple hobby

You hit that nail on the head!!!!
__________________
God grant me the serenity to accept the thing's I can not change, the courage to change the thing's I can and the wisdom to know the difference!

R.I.P Walena K. Cox
7/7/62 - 8/11/2002
Jermz79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2005, 04:52 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: St Petersburg Fl
Posts: 603
Send a message via AIM to pearsont74 Send a message via Yahoo to pearsont74
yup....
you know....its so simple to add a sump and worth the effort....u can buy a 10gal tank from wally mart for less then $10 and look on ebay for a overflow box
something to look into and research
__________________
check my site out --> www.coppernreef.com
pearsont74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2005, 05:06 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Spring Hill, FL
Posts: 1,365
I might eventually check into that, just seemed a little more than I wanted to do being that this is my first tank and all!

With a sump, doesn't it require a little more than an extra tank and overflow box? I mean don't you have to have more sand and more LR, return pumps and lines and what not? I really don't know!

Welp looks like I might have to take a quick trip to the LFS tonight for more water!!!!
__________________

__________________
God grant me the serenity to accept the thing's I can not change, the courage to change the thing's I can and the wisdom to know the difference!

R.I.P Walena K. Cox
7/7/62 - 8/11/2002
Jermz79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tank is UP AND RUNNING! Questions and pics... manoosie Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 24 08-28-2005 10:11 PM
got my tank running have a few quick questions.... plz Jonathan G. Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 02-13-2005 09:55 PM
Tank up and running.....now what? Overstocker Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 02-03-2004 10:55 PM
New tank is up and running! MR294 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 08-30-2003 01:52 PM
Just got my new tank up and running!! rthoman Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 11 07-10-2003 09:06 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.