Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-04-2014, 03:11 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 188
Tank upgrade

So I am upgrading from a 90 to a 160 gallon 8 foot tank. I want to place it in the same location as the previous tank. Does anyone have any recommendations? ? The more I think about it the more difficult it seems it will be to move everything. Keep it at temp and happy while I set up the new system and get it up to temp and operating. Starting to think this may be a bad idea.

Sent from my SGH-I337M using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
bkushy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2014, 03:15 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jcj0033's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 234
I am kind of doing the same thing I am going from a 80 to a 275 I am gonna keep my old tank up and running until I get the new one going.
__________________

__________________
Jcj0033 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2014, 04:17 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Lshann14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: 'Merica
Posts: 347
An 8 ft 160g?
Wow that's long!
I have a 180g that's only a little over 6 ft
__________________
Lshann14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2014, 05:50 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 188
It's not overly deep. My 90 is 26 inches deep now and I think I would prefer the shallow tank.

Sent from my SGH-I337M using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
bkushy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2014, 02:51 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jeffaquarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,933
I upgraded from 60 gal to 150 gal at the same spot and here are the steps of what I did.

1. I used new substrate so I washed them first and set aside.
2. Next to my old tank is my dining table that I can slide on the carpet so I used it to temporarily move it there before setting up the new tank at the same spot. I did this by myself. If there is another person to help you out then you don't have to worry about lifting it and you just put it on the floor
3. I have 2 large plastic containers to accommodate my fish and corals and all the water so I placed them there with lights, heater and circulating pump while I removed the old substrate for disposal.
4. After moving the old stand and tank out of the way I placed the new stand and tank at the same spot. Set it up with new substrate including the LR that would be at the bottom then run the pumps over night to give enough time for water to clear and parameter to stabilize. I mixed the old and new saltwater. I used 3 cups of old substrate to seed my new substrate.
5. The following day I made sure the parameter of the remaining water is closed to one in the tank (temp, salinity and pH) before moving the rest of the stuff.

So far it went smooth and my tank has been running flawlessly for about 6 months. I plan to add more LR when the time comes with more fish and corals in the future.
__________________
"Nothing great in the world has ever been accomplished without passion". George Wilhelm Friedrich Hegel

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=90w86...A434PW3gEa1-QA
jeffaquarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2014, 04:08 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 188
Thanks for the reply Jeff. Hopefully I can have the same success.

Sent from my SGH-I337M using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
bkushy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2014, 11:58 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jeffaquarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,933
You are welcome. BTW I forgot to mention that since my saltwater in the new tank was not yet at the right level during the night, I used a large hose as my temporary overflow and run the return pump controlled by an ato with sensor at DT to prevent flooding. The next morning that's when I filled the DT with the remaining saltwater before I move the fish. Just make sure you have everything you need before you start.
__________________

__________________
"Nothing great in the world has ever been accomplished without passion". George Wilhelm Friedrich Hegel

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=90w86...A434PW3gEa1-QA
jeffaquarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tan, tank, tank upgrade, upgrade

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tank Filter Size - To Upgrade, Or Not To Upgrade! mylifeasben Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 13 06-15-2014 02:47 PM
New Tank Build Thread! 55 Gallon tank upgrade! baron1282 Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 33 06-05-2013 12:22 PM
I may have just gotten me a free tank upgrade... Big time upgrade! Mrs.h2012 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 21 09-14-2012 04:01 PM
To upgrade or not to upgrade? JennaSimpson Saltwater Reef Aquaria 13 05-15-2012 08:08 PM
New 75gal tank, to upgrade or second tank? Magma Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 10-29-2010 06:14 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.