Tank Upgrade looking for advice!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jwright

Aquarium Advice Regular
You guys have helped me get through the first 18 months of my saltwater experience and I am grateful. I have made some mistakes but overall I think I have been pretty successful.

I currently have 125 gal fowlr setup. i'm looking to upgrade this tank somewhere between a 180 and a 240 to accommodate my pals. So I have a couple of questions.

1) Should I go Glass or Acrylic? I know acrylic is half the weight but will it scratch easy? i'm concerned most about this because I have been running the 125 for about 7 years now. It is glass and pretty scratched up. 5.5 years it was freshwater the last 18 months has been salt.

2) I want to be able to reuse the equipment ( cut down on costs) that I have so I am thinking of not getting the tank pre-drilled (more savings). And continuing to use my CPR hob overflow. It is rated at 16 hundred gallons an hour. My question is will this be enough to get water moving through my sump? I have another one that is not by cpr but is single j tube hob I could use that too maybe.

3) Do you know of any good places to purchase a tank online or should I stick with my lfs. I have a couple of really good ones an hour so from my home.

I have a flame angel, a blue ringed angel, 2 banner fish, 2 percula clowns, a gobie the little blue striped one and a basslet, 2 bristle stars, 1 sand sifting star, 5 scarlet hermits, 1 porcelain crab, 1 electric blue hermit, crushed coral sand mixture and 130 lbs of live rock. And a bit of nitrate issue :?

I guess thats my questions for now

Thanks
John