Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-16-2014, 01:14 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
gaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Columbia, MO
Posts: 64
Tank Upgrade Question

Hey all,

I'm going to upgrade my 12 gallon SPS dominated tank in the near future, and I'd like some advice from people who have been through similar situations.

Right now, I have a 12 gallon display with a 20 gallon sump with appx 25-30 lbs of live rock between the sump and display. I'm going to be upgrading to a ~50 gallon display and a 50 gallon sump. I have about 60 lbs of really awesome "dry" rock ready. I have new lights, skimmer, etc...basically everything I need for this upgrade.

I have a bunch of acros, a BTA and a clam in the existing tank...The only non SPS corals in the tank are a couple of ricordeas

I figure I'd start with all new sand and eventually transfer most of the live rock from my sump to the new sump so I have around 100 pounds of rock between a 50 gallon sump & 50 gallon display.

So the question is, how would you approach getting the rock "cured", dealing with a cycle and being able to put the stand for this new tank in the exact same place as my existing setup?

If you've done this before, double karma for your experiences or links to threads where you documented it :)

Thanks in advance for your thoughts.
__________________

__________________
gaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 10:03 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Macscale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Lakewood Ranch, Florida.
Posts: 2,850
Why do you want to "cure" the rock that you payed so much money for? Back when you set up the 12g since your using base rock.

Why not just do a soft cycle? There are several great articles on here about it. You can contact Wy Renegade, who knows plenty about it.

As for putting the tank in the same place, you can transfer everything to 5 gallon buckets (the rock remaining in water) and then move the tank in, and set it up.
__________________

__________________
55g Reef Build
Macscale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 10:29 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigRedsReefs10's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,675
I wouldn't soft cycle a tank with a clam and nems in it. Op the biggest problem I see is the fact that you want the tanks in the same spot, if you can drain the running tank enough to move it then I would just cycle the dry rock with ammonia or raw shrimp and transfer slowly from there (you may have the original tank running in a new spot for a few more months) or find a different spot for the new one and proceed the same way. Because (JMO) but I'd be very careful with the clam and nem, and add them a few months after starting to transfer to the new tank because it doesn't take much for either of those (especially the clam) to go downhill fast.
__________________
BigRedsReefs10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 10:35 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Macscale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Lakewood Ranch, Florida.
Posts: 2,850
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigRedsReefs10 View Post
I wouldn't soft cycle a tank with a clam and nems in it. Op the biggest problem I see is the fact that you want the tanks in the same spot, if you can drain the running tank enough to move it then I would just cycle the dry rock with ammonia or raw shrimp and transfer slowly from there (you may have the original tank running in a new spot for a few more months) or find a different spot for the new one and proceed the same way. Because (JMO) but I'd be very careful with the clam and nem, and add them a few months after starting to transfer to the new tank because it doesn't take much for either of those (especially the clam) to go downhill fast.

If I'm reading this correctly, the original display has a sump with Liverock in it. He could leave the 12g running with the clam, nem and acro, and transfer his rock from the sump to the new display. This would require a soft cycle, unless you want to kill all that established bacteria that very few take account for.
__________________
55g Reef Build
Macscale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 10:54 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigRedsReefs10's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,675
Ok I see what you mean, yes that would work, misunderstood you . Thought you meant like you upgraded.
__________________
BigRedsReefs10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 12:15 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Macscale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Lakewood Ranch, Florida.
Posts: 2,850
No no no... Why would I want to kill a prize tridacna!
__________________
55g Reef Build
Macscale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 01:34 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
gaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Columbia, MO
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macscale View Post
Why do you want to "cure" the rock that you payed so much money for? Back when you set up the 12g since your using base rock.
The new rock I have is "dry" and has been sitting outdoors for several months. My 12 gallon has pods, bristle worms, etc galore.

So if I'm understanding right, it sounds like I could relatively safely transfer everything from the 12 gallon into the new tank including moving things from the old sump into the new sump and do the swap. I'd use a decent amount of stability and primer in the new tank to help prevent any kind of mini-cycle. So basically like doing a tank move, which I have helped people do before with great success.

I could start curing the new dry rock in a trashcan and keep that going for a few months. So after time, when PO4 and nitrates look good, I can transfer that over and go for my final aquascape.

Thoughts?
__________________
gaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 02:00 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigRedsReefs10's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,675
That would scare the crap out of me with a clam in the tank....... Jmo though
__________________
BigRedsReefs10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 02:18 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
gaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Columbia, MO
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigRedsReefs10 View Post
That would scare the crap out of me with a clam in the tank....... Jmo though
Specifically why would it scare you? Do you have alternative thoughts?

I think these animals are a lot more resilient than people think. I had my first acropora in the 12 gallon in about 4 weeks after getting it wet. I started with fantastic live rock that was full of life. It has encrusted and grown like mad over the last year and a half.
__________________
gaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 02:19 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
gaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Columbia, MO
Posts: 64
And note, I'm not trying to seem that I'm careless with the health of my corals/etc. Obviously out of respect for the animals, I don't want to see any losses, which is why i'm posting here
__________________

__________________
gaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
question, tan, tank, tank upgrade, upgrade

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tank Filter Size - To Upgrade, Or Not To Upgrade! mylifeasben Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 13 06-15-2014 02:47 PM
I may have just gotten me a free tank upgrade... Big time upgrade! Mrs.h2012 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 21 09-14-2012 04:01 PM
To upgrade or not to upgrade? JennaSimpson Saltwater Reef Aquaria 13 05-15-2012 08:08 PM
Time to upgrade tank size: Question/Suggestions ASpec Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 12 12-02-2004 08:08 AM
MH Tank upgrade question MT79 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 11 10-07-2004 10:36 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.