Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-03-2006, 12:27 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 670
Tapwater report

This is from our Metro Utilities District:

Phosphate ppm <0.05 0.52 0.56
Silica ppm 7.8 25.3 32.1
Dissolved Solids
(total, calculated) ppm 439 404 574
Alkalinity (total) as CaCO3 ppm 84 139 264

Each of the three numbers represent which water plant is being tested - I'm not sure which we're on.

Are those phostphate and silica numbers high for somebody not using RO/DI? I'm treating with Prime at the moment, but have been fighting cyano, and even with water changes its not getting better.
__________________

__________________
Scoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2006, 05:30 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Devilishturtles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Frederick, Maryland
Posts: 8,544
Send a message via Yahoo to Devilishturtles
I don't know about the silica, but the phosphate definitley is. It may be all of your problem too. I know alot of people here has used Phosguard (or some other brand of phosphate remover) and it has helped immensely.

HTH
__________________

__________________
-Lindsay

Live in the Western MD/West Virginia/DC Metro Area?
Join our very active regional forum Here

Like the advice someone just gave you? Add to their reputation! Click on the balance icon underneath their username and let them know.
Devilishturtles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2006, 05:42 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 670
I still can't get a reading from the tank - the color matches the FW test, not SW, at 0.5.

I have a couple phosphate pads coming, that are supposed to absorbe quite a bit pretty fast. We'll see if it helps.

This sucks to be happening now, since I've moved off the HOB filter, and my nitrates are starting to approach zero (or they could be zero, but I'm still not 100% sure how to read the test, I probably need to try another brand). Everything else, temp, pH, Ca, etc., are all rock-solid and perfect for a reef setup. Haven't tested hardness, but with my Ca in line, and pH very stable, it must be within range.
__________________
Scoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2006, 06:12 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Can you confirm your tests with your LFS?
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2006, 10:44 AM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scoot
I still can't get a reading from the tank
That’s usually because whatever algae is present in the tank will use the available po4 and cause false readings.

Testing the source water is really the only real determination of po4. While the po4 absorbing pads do work well in removing it I’d still invest in a quality RO/DI unit. Even with RO/DI po4 can be introduced to the tank via poor quality carbon and food sources. I’d still use the Poly-Bio-Marine Poly Filter or PURA pads to reduce po4 over using any chemical media.
__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I have ammonia in my tapwater. FastFly67 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 09-06-2008 09:01 PM
using tapwater Genix Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 10-25-2005 12:36 PM
Tapwater directly to tank bad? pitt420dude Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 33 03-28-2005 05:54 PM
Need tapwater advice: it's an ammonia bomb! Mako Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 08-17-2004 11:43 AM
How much Chloramine in DC tapwater? chrisethompson Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 07-23-2004 03:09 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.