Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-22-2004, 03:11 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
TDS meter findings!!

I just bought a TDS meter, and am shocked at the results!

I've found out my RO unit isn't working, at all. Water straight out of my tap has the same reading (about 150ppm) as water I've been storing in a bottle from my RO unit for about a month.

Obviously something's amiss...what should I be checking for? It's one of the Kent 24gal/day full size units.
__________________

__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2004, 06:49 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
A clean cup.
__________________

__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2004, 07:31 PM   #3
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,362
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
Depending on how long you have the ro unit, and I don't mean to state the obvious, but either the membrane itself is shot or is is defective. Also, if you never changed the carbon prefilter and that went bad, the chlorine in tap water will destroy a ro membrane. Just curious, but why do you have ro water stored for a month?
__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2004, 08:21 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
I've since spoken to fishfreek about this (thanks!) :p

I store it for emergency waterchanges etc.

The clean cup thing worked - these TDS meters are so sensitive! Even the slightest bit of dust in the water throws the reading out by like a hundred! All seems ok now though...
__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2004, 10:16 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
OK, I'm now getting a reading of 22ppm straight from my RO unit, as opposed to 150ppm from my tap.

I was really hoping for 10 or less - is 22 ok?
__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2004, 11:38 AM   #6
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,362
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
22 ppm TDS is OK if you don't have a di filter as the final stage in your ro unit.
__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2004, 08:09 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
I've just tested 15 gallons of water that I've just done with my RO unit, and it's come out at 2ppm! I did 3 tests and they all came out the same. Two in different cups, and one straight in my water container tank. Very pleased. I then put the water in some plastic containers and carried it downstairs, before putting it back in the tank. I then got a reading of 4ppm - perhaps the containers added the extra bit, or it might've been a bit of dust or whatever.

At any rate, 4ppm is fantastic from a normal RO (not DI) unit!

One strange thing though, I RO'd a little bit of water into a cup yesterday to test the ppm, and it came out at 22ppm?
__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2004, 08:19 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Atari's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 2,468
Yeah, it's quite common for a lot of these TDS meters to have an accuracy of +/- 2%.. so if your particular device has a range of 0-999 then that would account for the fluctuation of 20ppm.. I think that's how it works anyway, Maths was never my strength
__________________
My wife and I were happy for twenty years. Then we met.
- Rodney Dangerfield.


Click HERE to vote for Aquarium Advice!
Atari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2004, 08:22 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
My TDS meter actually goes up to 9,999 :p

Surely it won't be so inaccurate though?
__________________

__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TDS meter... TDS? stratmaster General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 09-25-2009 06:29 PM
TDS Meter mrcrazypants05 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 02-04-2006 03:04 AM
IN-line TDS meter SpEd General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 06-22-2005 10:49 AM
TDS meter MarineFlake General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 03-16-2005 10:39 PM
Hannah TDS meter and pH meter saltwatersmac Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 01-17-2005 10:49 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.