Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-10-2008, 04:01 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Orlando
Posts: 274
Send a message via AIM to robertfah
TDS Readings

Hi all,

I an AquaFX RO unit and haven't changed the filters in a LONG time....but my TDS readings are saying 0 for out and 200 for in.....that's still good right? What is everyone else getting for readings?
__________________

__________________
90g Reef
robertfah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 06:14 PM   #2
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
I can't get to 0TDS, and it irks me. I hold steady at 4 and can't get any lower. My input is between 160 and 200.
__________________

__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 06:57 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Orlando
Posts: 274
Send a message via AIM to robertfah
Quote:
Originally Posted by neilanh View Post
I can't get to 0TDS, and it irks me. I hold steady at 4 and can't get any lower. My input is between 160 and 200.
Mine is going through a Rain Soft system before hitting the RO, so that is probably helping a lot.
__________________
90g Reef
robertfah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 08:41 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
neilanh... add a DI stage and you should get to 0. I'm guessing you're running just RO? With a DI stage, there's no reason you shouldn't get to 0. Unless the DI resin is depleted.

To answer the original question... I agree - 0 is 0, so I'd say it's good. Have you double checked the calibration of your TDS meter?
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 09:39 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Orlando
Posts: 274
Send a message via AIM to robertfah
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurt_Nelson View Post
neilanh... add a DI stage and you should get to 0. I'm guessing you're running just RO? With a DI stage, there's no reason you shouldn't get to 0. Unless the DI resin is depleted.

To answer the original question... I agree - 0 is 0, so I'd say it's good. Have you double checked the calibration of your TDS meter?

no.....but I'm guessing any LFS would be able to help me with that?
__________________
90g Reef
robertfah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 09:47 PM   #6
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
Thanks Kurt, but there is a DI stage on my unit. THe unit isn't even 4 months old yet, and I've never gotten it to 0TDS. It's a 6-stage system that I got off of ebay.
__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 12:59 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
Quote:
Originally Posted by neilanh View Post
Thanks Kurt, but there is a DI stage on my unit. THe unit isn't even 4 months old yet, and I've never gotten it to 0TDS. It's a 6-stage system that I got off of ebay.
Hmmm... I'd be willing to bet that the original DI resin that came with your unit might have been depleted to start with. When DI resin is exposed to air, it loses it's capacity pretty quick. If the resin wasn't sealed, it might not have been very good right out of the box.

Only reason I say this is because I use straight DI (no RO) to purify my water and I can get my water down to 0ppm with no problem - even flowing at 60 gallons/hour (that's HOURS... not days). So if you're trickling it through an RO to start with, the DI should have no problem stripping whatever is left down to 0. Or perhaps the TDS meter is out of whack.

robertfah... you should be able to pick up some calibration solution somewhere if you want to double check your meter. If your LFS doesn't carry it, then try DrFosterSmith, PremiumAquatics, MarineDepot, or any of the other big online folks.
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 07:24 AM   #8
Thanx but no.....


 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,333
Possibly the DI resin isn't/wasn't packed tight enough and you have some channeling going on. If you bought some extra you can tamp it down and repack, of just try tamping down what you have.
__________________
CaptainAhab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 01:48 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Orlando
Posts: 274
Send a message via AIM to robertfah
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurt_Nelson View Post
robertfah... you should be able to pick up some calibration solution somewhere if you want to double check your meter. If your LFS doesn't carry it, then try DrFosterSmith, PremiumAquatics, MarineDepot, or any of the other big online folks.
Thanks Kurt....I'll look into it. It'll be interesting to see if it's calibrated correctly or not.
__________________
90g Reef
robertfah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 02:22 PM   #10
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
Thanks for all the advice. I did notice when I got the unit that the resin wasn't packed in very well, so I ordered more and really packed it in there, that's what got me down to 4, I was up in the 20s.

I didn't know exposure to air would deplete the resin. I have a small bag that hasn't been sealed sitting here I was pondering replacing it with, but since it wasn't sealed I guess I should order a new bag.
__________________

__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RO/DI TDS readings SW-FLguy Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 04-23-2006 01:27 PM
RO/DI TDS readings.....too high? Dr.Nate General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 9 02-22-2006 11:51 AM
TDS readings SJSobczyk Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 05-02-2005 09:52 PM
Need advice on TDS meter readings Brisc0 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 04-22-2005 10:53 AM
TDS Readings toddwess Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 01-13-2004 10:54 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.