Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-04-2004, 05:34 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
TDS rising over time?

I tested my RO (non-DI unit) water when it'd finished in my waterchange container (15gal), and I got a good reading of 4ppm from my TDS meter, which is exactly the same as I got the week before with my previous batch of RO water. So all was good.

However, after leaving the water in the container with a loose lid on it in my bathroom, for 4 days, I've just tested my water again and it's now gone up to 23ppm.

Anyone any ideas?? I've not touched the water since, and there's nothing else in the container (which is in fact a plastic aquarium).

__________________

__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2004, 05:43 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Sherman, texas-college in arlington,tx near Dallas
Posts: 324
Send a message via AIM to dustybrannum Send a message via MSN to dustybrannum Send a message via Yahoo to dustybrannum
When I ordered my RO/DI system from AquaFX they suggested I get the water tank with it because many consumer plastic containers will leech minerals into the water because it is so pure. HTH
__________________

__________________
Dusty Brannum
dustybrannum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2004, 05:55 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
That may be it, but it is a dedicated aquarium, so you'd think it'd be non-toxic etc. Also, an extra 20ppm is a lot to "leech"...

The funny thing is, when I first got my TDS meter, I tested a small sample of RO water into a small plastic container and it came back as 23ppm...

Then, the next 2 proper runs I did, I got 4ppm...

Don't know what's going on really.

Perhaps it is the container(s).

4ppm was better, but I'm still fairly happy with 23 (down from 140 from my tap!).
__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2004, 06:04 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Sherman, texas-college in arlington,tx near Dallas
Posts: 324
Send a message via AIM to dustybrannum Send a message via MSN to dustybrannum Send a message via Yahoo to dustybrannum
only 140? mine goes from 197 to 300ppm on the tap
__________________
Dusty Brannum
dustybrannum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2004, 06:22 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Eden Prairie, MN
Posts: 41
On the off chance.. Does your TDS meter need to be recalibrated?

Are you testing the RO water from a smaller container such as a plastic or glass cup?

Make sure this cup (or other container) is very clean since any remaining residue could influence your test results.

As far as other reasons or the cause for the changes.. I don't know.
__________________
Leaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2004, 06:48 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
Apparently my TDS meter doesn't need to be calibrated - there's also no way of doing so, so I guess not.

I'm testing my RO water straight in my tank (the plastic tank I use for waterchanges).
__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2004, 07:15 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Atari's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 2,468
Try it again later.. I'm still convinced these meters have an accuracy of +/- 20ppm.
__________________
My wife and I were happy for twenty years. Then we met.
- Rodney Dangerfield.


Click HERE to vote for Aquarium Advice!
Atari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2004, 07:27 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
Well, I've just put my salt in now - I'll test a few times at my next waterchange
__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2004, 08:19 PM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
loose lid...dust....
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2004, 08:20 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
Hehe, maybe so!
__________________

__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TDS meter... TDS? stratmaster General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 09-25-2009 06:29 PM
ph always rising Hyrules Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 16 01-02-2007 03:06 PM
TDS in....TDS out of RO well water for reef jackdp Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 11-26-2006 10:59 AM
Why does my pH keep rising? Rocket2001 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 10 09-17-2004 09:37 AM
Rising pH MarkW19 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 06-17-2004 11:28 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.