Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-14-2009, 06:36 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bigbear California
Posts: 92
Test strip readings

Okay folks.........here we go.
(for those of you who have'nt heard anything form ME as of yet: > I've just recently acquired a 100gal. salty which had been extremley neglected...therefore needed to be completely stripped down and rebuilt from scratch.-it was very dirty.)
So.......now that I've got the surviving fish inna temporary(10gal.)..and the big one all hooked-back-up and running w/all new saltwater I just bought an API 5 in 1 test kit...but was struggling to figure out all of these numbers..then gotta brilliant idea...why not throw it out there to A/A and see what kinda feedback ya get.
So heres my number ..kids...gh=180...kh=240..ph8.0...no2=3...no3=0-20....
Is it ready to transfer its former occupants back to their home yet ??And if not....WHAT do I do ??? Thankx
__________________

__________________
Harry Gross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2009, 07:48 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
HoCkEyGmC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Detroit Area
Posts: 1,008
Send a message via AIM to HoCkEyGmC
if you still have nitrites then youre not ready. is there an ammonia test? that would be helpful. and 0-20 nitrates??? can you get a solid number, or no? everything else seems fine though. just wait for your cycle/minicycle to finish.
=]
__________________

__________________
HoCkEyGmC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2009, 08:18 PM   #3
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
I`d like to see those nitrites at 0 also. I too want to see your ammonia reading?
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2009, 10:44 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
I agree. If that kit didn't come with an Ammonia test then go get one and test and see what you come up with. Nitrites present indicates a cycle of some kind going on and you want to be sure before putting live stock back in the tank.
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2009, 10:36 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bigbear California
Posts: 92
I appriciate the input good people !!
To answer a few of the Q's :
1.) No the test kits nitrates test ing scale goes...0-20...20-30...30-40...etc.BUT (!) the coloration of the teststrip...my guess would be that the reading was somewhere around two or three..(no higher that 5 DEFFINATELY).
2.)Yes I will go pickup and amonia test kit...(hopefully today)...did'nt realize that I'd need one...for strickly amonia's .
I'll keep you folks up to speed after I pick up the amonia test kit. Thank You soo very much.
__________________
Harry Gross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2009, 11:24 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
intimatecple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Pottstown, PA
Posts: 335
Send a message via Yahoo to intimatecple
are you using strips...or liquid drops?
if they are dip strips....please take them back and get a better test kit....strips are very inaccurate and broad. not telling you enough
__________________
www.ncpars.org ...live in PA area...come join us!!
Humane cycle ...fish-free cycle
intimatecple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2009, 07:48 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bigbear California
Posts: 92
Back from the fishstore:
My testkit is an API ammonia testkit.(Drops)
I tested it just now and it sez I have a 0.25 reading.( I gather that a 0.0 would've been the most preferrable.)So do I need to bring that "DOWN" ??If so...how ??Is bringing that down going to effect my other readings ??


"OR"....with an ammonia reading of 0.25.....gh=180...kh=240..ph=8.0..no2=3...no3=0-20....is it safe enough to put its former residents..( 2 clownies and a blue fish of some sort)...back into their home...and then go to work fine tuning the tank to desired-....???
__________________
Harry Gross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2009, 01:46 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
GhostKnife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: columbus, ohio
Posts: 703
You cant do anything to bring it down it will happen on its own. Its still cycling for sure. You want 0 ammonia and 0 nitrite and you will have nitrates but you want to keep those low as well by doing frequent water changes. The nitrates are okay around 20 to 30. Dont worry about the nitrates if you are doing water changes they are okay yet still test them just so you know all of your parameters. And get a test kit that is all liquid you dont want strips. You also do not want to put the former resis back in yet because your tank is still cycling. Let the nitrogen cycle take its course. 0 ammonia 0 nitrite and you are gonna have nitrates as this is what become of the ammonia and nitrite.
__________________
GhostKnife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2009, 02:54 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Southern CA
Posts: 616
Actually I believe in a SW tank nitrates need to be as close to 0 as possible... 20-30 is acceptable for a FW tank but for a SW I believe under 10 is preferable.

0 ammonia and 0 nitrite are necessary for sure.

Keep testing the temporary tank with a LIQUID test kit, not strips (they are often inaccurate). You may need to be doing a lot of water changes to keep the levels under control in that tank.
__________________

__________________
bluerose is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
test

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Test readings sieski Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 07-24-2009 10:55 AM
KH test kit readings Sicklid Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 03-09-2007 12:06 PM
Test Strip Accuracy dskidmore General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 8 10-01-2006 06:59 AM
strip test kits? kimberly Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 13 06-10-2005 05:50 PM
Test Strip v. FasTest Phyl Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 01-17-2005 10:15 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.