Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-08-2004, 07:47 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
Cheers Biggen, makes perfect sense!
__________________

__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2004, 09:45 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
Can I disconnect the 2 chambers from the membrane, open up the chambers, and remove the filter media for about an hour while I go get replacements from the shop?

I want to be able to take my old filters with me so that I get the right thing - will the membrane definitely stay in water during this time, and will it be ok with the plastic chambers taken off, or would you screw them back on while I'm out (even though there'll be no filters inside)?
__________________

__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2004, 10:50 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
Anyone? The shop's about to close :p

__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2004, 12:24 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
I've just got the 2 filters. The carbon one is "Pentek Filtration, Granular Activated Carbon Filter Cartridge, 20 microns (nominal). Reduces Chlorine Taste & Odor, Bad Taste & Odor".

Is this OK?
__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2004, 05:04 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Biggen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Panama City FL
Posts: 1,817
Should be fine so long as it fits into your filter housing. Did you get a sediment filter as well?
__________________
Rodman
Biggen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2004, 05:14 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
Yeah they both fit, I got the sediment filter as well. Which should be first by the way (from the water source) - sediment or carbon?
__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2004, 05:42 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Biggen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Panama City FL
Posts: 1,817
Sediment should be your very first filter the water encounters
__________________
Rodman
Biggen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2004, 06:10 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
I'd got them on the wrong way round :P

Just changed them, but realised I've made a booboo :P

I just took them off and screwed them to the other part, but didn't tip the water out that was left in the chambers from when I was rinsing them through. Therefore, the water that's currently in the carbon chamber will never go through the sediment filter, if you get me. And the water in the sediment filter has already been through the carbon, and will go through again :P So the next time I RO some water, the first part of it won't have gone through the sediment filter.

Will this be a problem? I've just put my unit back together again and don't really want to mess with it again!
__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2004, 06:15 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Biggen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Panama City FL
Posts: 1,817
I would just flush the unit again like you did when you first put the filter in. That should remove the water that didn't go through the sediment filter and vice versa.
__________________
Rodman
Biggen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2004, 06:24 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
Okie, done.

But (grr!), I tested the unit when it was put back together earlier today to see if it was outputting correctly (with the chambers connected back to the membrane after I'd flushed just the 2 chambers), so some of the water in the membrane went through the carbon filter BEFORE the sediment (as they were on the wrong way round). So when I start my RO the water that was in the membrane will come out first of course, and went through the 2 filters in the wrong order.

Problem?

:P
__________________

__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sting, testing

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Chlorine ConanTheLibraia Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 01-29-2006 10:24 PM
Chlorine water Arshis Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 10 12-22-2005 10:19 PM
Best chlorine remover? aoplayo General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 11-23-2005 03:00 AM
chlorine remover Hara Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 10-23-2005 08:43 PM
chlorine and bacteria ripvanrina Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 05-07-2005 12:01 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.