Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-12-2004, 06:02 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
Anyone?

__________________

__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2004, 07:50 PM   #22
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkW19
Problem?
Not sure I completely understand you description of events but as long as the water did not go from the tap directly through the RO membrane first, you should be fine. Chlorine and chloramines will kill the membrane if it did not go through the carbon stage first.

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2004, 07:59 PM   #23
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
So it doesn't really matter what order the water goes through the sediment and carbon filters?
__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2004, 08:04 PM   #24
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
Some water may have not gone through the sediment filter, but all definitely went through the carbon before it got to the membrane.

Is that ok?
__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2004, 08:13 PM   #25
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkW19
So it doesn't really matter what order the water goes through the sediment and carbon filters?
It does actually matter but not for something that short term. It will make alot of difference with the longevity of the carbon if it's the first stage. Best to get the larger particles out before the carbon stage.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkW19
Some water may have not gone through the sediment filter, but all definitely went through the carbon before it got to the membrane.

Is that ok?
Shouldn't be a concern for anything.

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2004, 05:21 PM   #26
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
To be safe, I'm currently running the unit (outputting RO water) for an hour and a half to wash out any of the water that was still in it. So that when I use it properly, it'll only be "new" water that I get that's gone through the filters in the correct order etc.
__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2004, 06:59 PM   #27
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
How do I ensure water's kept in the membrane when the unit is being stored? Just turn the water off after I've finished and it should stay in there right?

After I've turned it off, water keeps dripping out of the two tubes though (waste and product) for a couple of mins after I've turned it off, albeit getting slower and slower until it stops.

Is this ok? Or am I losing water from the membrane by letting it do this?
__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2004, 07:38 PM   #28
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkW19
Is this ok? Or am I losing water from the membrane by letting it do this?
Not 100 % sure on this but if the water is off there will be no pressure in the unit and a good possibility the membrane will not be completely covered by water.

The unit should have an auto shut off (?) that keeps the pressure throughout the unit constant and you shouldn't need to turn it off. Why not just leave it connected?

Hopefully someone that stores their unit in the same fashion will respond

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2004, 08:34 PM   #29
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
I can't leave it connected because I use it in the bath

I've been doing the same thing for 7 months and the TDS are between 1 and 2 ppm. So I guess it's not a problem? I just noticed tonight that water keeps dripping out for a few minutes after it's shut off, that's all.
__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2004, 02:00 PM   #30
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
Well, I've just done my first proper RO run since changing the filters, and I've got 001 TDS ppm.

So, I guess everything is working smoothly :P
__________________

__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sting, testing

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Chlorine ConanTheLibraia Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 01-29-2006 10:24 PM
Chlorine water Arshis Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 10 12-22-2005 10:19 PM
Best chlorine remover? aoplayo General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 11-23-2005 03:00 AM
chlorine remover Hara Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 10-23-2005 08:43 PM
chlorine and bacteria ripvanrina Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 05-07-2005 12:01 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.