Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-07-2004, 11:16 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
Testing for chlorine/chlorides

Are these contained in Total Dissolved Solids (TDS) or do I need a seperate testing kit for them?

Just worried that I won't know when my RO unit has stopped being as efficient with chlorine and chlorides (I have a TDS meter)...
__________________

__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2004, 11:43 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Biggen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Panama City FL
Posts: 1,817
What is your TDS meter indicating? For my RO/DI system, the output water is ~1ppm while the tap water reads around ~85ppm.

The TDS simply measures dissolved solids. I would assume it will also pick up chlorine/chlorides because of this.
__________________

__________________
Rodman
Biggen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2004, 12:51 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
My tap water is 150ppm, and my RO water is 2ppm.

So chlorine/chlorides are measured in TDS too?
__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2004, 01:32 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Biggen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Panama City FL
Posts: 1,817
Quote:
So chlorine/chlorides are measured in TDS too?
I believe, someone please correct me if I am wrong, the TDS meter will pick ANYTHING up that is dissolved in the sample of water it is measuring. That would include chlorine/chlorides as well.

If you are getting a 2ppm reading, I would say your RO unit is working perfectly unless your TDS meter isn't working properly.
__________________
Biggen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2004, 10:18 PM   #5
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
The TDS will only register ionized particles in the water, so it is not a completey sure fire method. Chlorine and chloramines are removed by the carbon in the RO system not the membrane so as long as the chambers are changed at least twice a year depending on water quality going in, you should be fine.

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2004, 10:28 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Biggen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Panama City FL
Posts: 1,817
This is why we love Steve!

__________________
Rodman
Biggen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2004, 06:24 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
So I need to replace the carbon now basically? It's been 6 months since I got it (water quality going in is 150ppm TDS).

How do I change them? The membrane has to be kept in water as you know - if I unscrew the 2 chambers will the water not fall out (and therefore the water in the membrane housing above will come through the 2 chambers and fall out?). It's a Kent full-size 24gal/day unit I've got - 2 carbon chambers and mebrane housing sitting above. What's the method of changing the 2 carbon chambers while still keeping everything ok (ie. membrane submersed in water)?

Thanks!
__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2004, 06:29 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
Steve: how long should the actual membrane last?
__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2004, 06:35 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
Steve: I've got a Quality Pure full size 24gal/day unit. I'm told this is the same (apparently) as the Kent unit).

Do I need a "1 micron sediment filter" for one chamber, and "replacement carbon cartridge" for the 2nd chamber? Is it sort of 1 size fits all, or do I need specific parts for my unit?
__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2004, 07:41 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Biggen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Panama City FL
Posts: 1,817
Quote:
So I need to replace the carbon now basically? It's been 6 months since I got it (water quality going in is 150ppm TDS).
The carbon should be replaced every 6 months. I replace my carbon filters between 4-6 months.

Quote:
How do I change them? The membrane has to be kept in water as you know - if I unscrew the 2 chambers will the water not fall out (and therefore the water in the membrane housing above will come through the 2 chambers and fall out?). It's a Kent full-size 24gal/day unit I've got - 2 carbon chambers and mebrane housing sitting above. What's the method of changing the 2 carbon chambers while still keeping everything ok (ie. membrane submersed in water)?
Just turn the water off to the unit and unscrew the carbon filter housings. Your membrane will be fine. You will need to flush those new carbon filters though. The easiest way to do this is put the new filters in and replace the filter housings. Then disconnect the water line going into the membrane from the carbon filters. You can leave the line connected to carbon filters though as you want to drape this line into a bucket so you can run water through the carbon filters only. Turn on the water to the unit and let it flush the carbon filters out for a few minutes and then reconnect the line back into the membrane housing.

Make sense?

Quote:
Steve: how long should the actual membrane last?
I'm not Steve, but I can tell you the membrane should last at least 2 years. Probably longer. When your TDS meter begins reading higher and higher, it is time to start thinking about changing that membrane and DI resin.

Quote:
Do I need a "1 micron sediment filter" for one chamber, and "replacement carbon cartridge" for the 2nd chamber? Is it sort of 1 size fits all, or do I need specific parts for my unit?
Again, I am not Steve, however you should be able to use most any carbon/sediment filter. Most are the same size however there are exceptions. You will need a sediment filter in the first stage and carbon in the remaining stage.
__________________

__________________
Rodman
Biggen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sting, testing

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Chlorine ConanTheLibraia Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 01-29-2006 10:24 PM
Chlorine water Arshis Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 10 12-22-2005 10:19 PM
Best chlorine remover? aoplayo General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 11-23-2005 03:00 AM
chlorine remover Hara Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 10-23-2005 08:43 PM
chlorine and bacteria ripvanrina Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 05-07-2005 12:01 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.