Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-16-2006, 12:32 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 1,869
Send a message via AIM to jamal-188
Thin layer of CC as a high flow substrate?

Setting up a new tank and am tired of sand but dont' know if I want to go Starboard barebottom, basically due to finding the material and having it cute for my 95 wave tank. I also like the apperance of a substarte so I"m thinking a 1/4-1/2" layer of cc that I could just stir up every once in a while of vaccum to get rid of detritus.

Do many do this, or should I just find starboard somewhere?
__________________

__________________
jamal-188 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2006, 12:47 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Here is a place that sells it:
www.cuttingboardcompany.com

You could cut it yourself with a band saw, if you have one.

I think the coralline will look cool after it starts growing on it.

I have sand. I tried CC, it got dirty and was a pain to clean, it will also limit your clean up crew and any other critters that like the sand. I think, if you are going with a small amount, like you said, it might still be relatively easy to keep white and nice looking.
Whatever you decide, pleas post pics.
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2006, 03:54 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 1,869
Send a message via AIM to jamal-188
I think I might do that....

I was also considering faux sand bed, any links on that?
__________________
jamal-188 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2006, 04:38 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
You could probably google it. I found a bunch, it sounds interesting. One site I saw had an epoxy with the sand on the top. I like blennys and other critters, that like the sand.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2006, 04:04 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 1,869
Send a message via AIM to jamal-188
Ordered starboard, gonna give it a try, I'll post some pics
__________________
jamal-188 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2006, 04:15 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Houston, TX, USA
Posts: 801
Send a message via AIM to FishFrik
Have you considered argonite (sp) sand? The grains are bigger than normal LS so they don't get blown around.
__________________
I'm one of those fishnutz, who are actually nutz.
FishFrik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2006, 12:40 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 1,869
Send a message via AIM to jamal-188
I still think it would get blown around....and I'm don't want detritus to get trapped in the sand either. I think I'll just keep the plain white starboard for now and if I don't like it I can add a real think layer of a larger substrate material.
__________________

__________________
jamal-188 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flow, substrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flow meter for high flow canister? TankGirl Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 0 03-30-2009 03:55 PM
High Light, High Flow, Slow Growth Corals jonboyb Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 10-18-2008 03:12 PM
Powerheads high flow? SeriousDude5 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 08-03-2006 09:53 PM
thinking about adding a layer of PFS to my substrate... Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 08-03-2006 04:31 PM
High flow rate in Marine System fnscasey Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 10-10-2003 05:04 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.