Thinking if going salt

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BLUElobster99

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Hey guys

So at the start of the school year (end of summer) my parents are going to let me get a new tank either a 55 or a 75

I originally had my eye on a knife fish but I recently discovered the dwarf species of lionfish that can fit in a tank that size

I currently have several freshwater tanks and I've been keeping fish for about 5-6 years

When j proposed the lionfish idea to my parents several issues arouse (I'm sure you can guess one of them lol)

1. My mom is no stranger to aquatic fish so she obviously started worrying about he idea of me getting stung by one One of the spines

2. She worries that a saltwater tank will be too difficult for me to maintain

Is she right?
Is saltwater that difficult? Is the water chemistry that hard to maintain? And aren't lions pretty hardy fish? What specialized equipment is required to transition to saltwater? Lights,test kits, medication ect.

I would say not necessarily more difficult, just a whole different set of rules than freshwater. There is a lot to learn and patience is the key. 55 or 75 is a good size tank to start with because the more water volume the more room for error. I can tell you that the startup cost is going to be quite high so be prepared for that! I assume with a lion fish it will be fish only? Not reef? That saves you a load because you won't need fancy lighting. You will need to test regularly and weekly water changes. Check out the start up articles on here for some good reference material...