Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-15-2012, 08:47 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
fadetoblack06's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Kenosha, Wi
Posts: 537
Send a message via Yahoo to fadetoblack06
It was all at different times that i lost them during the day and at night. So just put another power head facing the opposite direction so the current goes both ways then?
__________________

__________________
fadetoblack06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 09:14 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Beengirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,308
I agree that good sized fish were likely added too quickly. That probably caused an ammonia spike Because your tank didn't have enough BB to keep up. Don't be too hard on yourself. I know it's frustrating, but chalk it up to a lesson learned.
And a canister filter is fine, lots of people use them in SW. Not everyone has room for a sump. You just need to make sure you are very good about cleaning the canister every week. Nitrates under 40 should not harm your fish. For corals and algae control, nitrates closer to zero is best. But anything under 40 won't harm the fish.
__________________

__________________
Beengirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 09:24 PM   #23
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 432
The only thing fast about this hobby are bad things. Patience is the key to it all!! Promise!!! Also, I would set a QT up for all new fish. Watch them for 3-4 weeks to make sure your not adding something to your system. Your thank yourself in the end. I learned the hard way....almost lost a 200.00 Australian tusk who is currently being treated with copper for iCh.

Good luck and we are here to help
__________________
Rosesrblu1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 10:43 AM   #24
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
fadetoblack06's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Kenosha, Wi
Posts: 537
Send a message via Yahoo to fadetoblack06
So if I get a protein skimmer and another power head, take out the canister filter should I be fine then with that set up? I have one power head now in there and the other power head would take the place of the filter head.
__________________
fadetoblack06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 10:46 AM   #25
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
fadetoblack06's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Kenosha, Wi
Posts: 537
Send a message via Yahoo to fadetoblack06
So if I were to build my own sump and get a protein skimmer and a power head to replace the output of the canister I should be fine right.
__________________
fadetoblack06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 11:57 AM   #26
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,550
Why do you think you should replace the output of the canister with a powerhead? You will still have the return line from the sump.
Sniperhank is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 01:00 PM   #27
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
pritchard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 241
Replace the canister filter media with live rock rubble ! Just a suggestion
__________________
pritchard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 01:08 PM   #28
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
fadetoblack06's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Kenosha, Wi
Posts: 537
Send a message via Yahoo to fadetoblack06
The live rock to replace the filter media? Then I can just let it run right. Is there anything else I would need to do then besides run a protein skimmer then not need a sump?
__________________
fadetoblack06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 01:40 PM   #29
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
pritchard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 241
A sump is not a necessity but the benefits are plenty ! It will add volume to your system keeping water chemistry more stable ! It will also give you somewhere to hide heaters skimmers etc ! Try to rate your skimmer at twice your tanks volume ! My system runs with no filter as such just a massive skimmer and live rock and that's it ! Here's a pic !
It looks complicated but it's not really ! A sump doesn't even need to be a tank ! A simple sump can be anything that's big enough and holds water ! Any questions buddy just ask
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2323590685.jpg
Views:	92
Size:	52.5 KB
ID:	125311
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1081960037.jpg
Views:	77
Size:	49.4 KB
ID:	125308   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-4054568152.jpg
Views:	62
Size:	44.0 KB
ID:	125309  

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1005590182.jpg
Views:	74
Size:	57.0 KB
ID:	125310  
__________________
pritchard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 01:49 PM   #30
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
pritchard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 241
Also with a marine system your turnover rate should be at least 15 times your system volume per hour you can do this with a combination of power heads and skimmer rating etc and your return pump if you have a sump
__________________

__________________
pritchard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.