Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-05-2003, 10:22 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Maine , USA
Posts: 144
Timers

Looking to buy a timer for my lights, wondering what everyone else uses ??

thanks

Mike
__________________

__________________
I hope someday to be the person my dog thinks I am!
vermonter310 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2003, 10:24 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
I use the standard heavy duty timers from walmart, the kind with the pegs.
__________________

__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2003, 11:10 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
Yep. THey are like $4 or something. THey have an on/off setting and you set the dial to the current time and plug it in to the wall outlet and then plug your lights into that.
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2003, 08:16 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Cleveland, Oh. USA
Posts: 2,158
Send a message via AIM to ReefRaff Send a message via MSN to ReefRaff Send a message via Yahoo to ReefRaff
Gordon put together a pretty nifty device. Chk it out. http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewto...077&highlight=
ReefRaff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2003, 09:09 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
I guess I'm a sucker for digital gadgets. I like the Intermatic digital that Home Depot sells. It's programmable. It has battery backup so you don't lose the settings when the power goes out. It's absolutely accurate. It's about $16. Best of all...it uses a 3 prong grounded plug.
__________________
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.
Logan J
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2003, 11:10 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
BillyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Western NY
Posts: 4,064
that would be my only point of suggestion, be sure whatever timer you get it uses all three prongs so your lights are grounded.
__________________
Acronyms and Abbreviations
BillyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2003, 12:30 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,227
be sure to check the load rating for "Inductive" or "Fluorescent" loads ... most timers that claim 15A are actually rated much less than that for inductive loads, due to the kickback from the transformer.

exceeding the recommended rating is probably not 'dangerous' but may shorten the life of the timer, or cause it to get stuck-on

just my $0.02
__________________
justDIY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2003, 07:31 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Maine , USA
Posts: 144
Thanks everyone.

Mike
__________________
I hope someday to be the person my dog thinks I am!
vermonter310 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2003, 12:47 AM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
I'm not sure about the load rating on the digital Intermatics, but I have two of them on a reef tank. Each one powers an Icecap 660 with a pair of 160w bulbs. Another is on a cichlid tank running 2x96w PC's. Another is on my coral tanks running 6x65w PC's. I'm going to guess, since I haven't had any trouble with any of them, that this particular timer will handle the load. I couldn't say that about any other brand though as these are the only ones I use. Good point about the inductive load though...I'd never have thought of that.
__________________

__________________
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.
Logan J
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
timers

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Timers bromion Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 03-29-2006 09:32 PM
Timers... Lonewolfblue Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 03-06-2006 04:23 PM
Timers SirPug Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 11 08-20-2004 08:56 PM
timers lziarek Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 07-22-2004 04:16 PM
Timers Talon242 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 10 04-03-2004 08:47 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.