To bio-wheel or not to bio-wheel??

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tjara03

Aquarium Advice Freak
This is the question... i have a penguin bio-wheel running on my tank. should i take out the bio-wheel or leave it in? TIA!!!

No bio-wheel.

In sw tanks nitrates are bad and also the biowheels are said to compete with the bacteria on the lr and substrate for oxygen. The competing part may not be true but i've heard it said a couple times before.

Even though I am not a bio wheel fan, I thought the purpose of the wheel was to house Denitrifying bacteria. And even though your assertion about nitrates are bad for a salt water tank is true,Ammonia is even worse. That is the purpose of the bio wheel to get rid of ammonia and nitrites. I think an appropriate question down the road is what is your ammonia reading?

Sorry for my ignorance, but I am new to saltwater aquariums. :cry:

If you don't use a biowheel, is there another filtration system that should be used or just a protein skimmer?

That`s actually a very good question. Like the prior person said you could add more live rock where your good bacteria would be at to reduce ammonia and Nitrates and A refugium with calerpa to reduce the nitrates. Water changes also reduce nitrates. And yes skimmers will remove DOC that contribute to nitrates.

You guys are always so quick to jump on the bio wheel. Melo is totally correct, The ammonia is way worse than the nitrate. I ran 2 penguin 330's in my 75 gal tank for over a year and never had a reading for nitrate.