Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-23-2003, 11:22 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Detroit MI
Posts: 440
To cover or not to cover...

So, should I place a cover over the water on my 125gallon? hellolights.com says I NEED a glass cover between the bulb and the water. I've read all over here not to do it. My LFS has their halides over open water, albeit roughly 8inches above. So, I'm going to assume hellolights is covering its legal behind, and that it is safe to put the halides 8" above the open water? Should my VHOs be closer? At the LFS, they are the same distance. I think I'm going with 3x250w MH+2x165VHO. Also, which is better as far as magnetic ballasts...probe start or pulse start? thanks!
__________________

__________________
dansemacabre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2003, 11:33 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
Quote:
So, I'm going to assume hellolights is covering its legal behind, and that it is safe to put the halides 8" above the open water? Should my VHOs be closer?
It is not "safe" strictly speaking. I run my halide about 6-8" from the water surface uncovered. I haven't had a problem, but one small splash that makes it to the bulb and it will blow. My PCs are the same distance from the water as the halide.
__________________

__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2003, 07:03 AM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
My PC's are between 6-8" above the water surface with only air between them. I really dont have an issue with water splashing up onto them. A thin bit of acrylic can be put just below the bulbs if you want. Make sure you use a fan to vent the bulbs if you do this.
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2003, 08:23 AM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
Quote:
Originally Posted by fishfreek
A thin bit of acrylic can be put just below the bulbs if you want. Make sure you use a fan to vent the bulbs if you do this.
Just be sure, as fishfreek mentioned, that you put the cover right below the bulbs. You don't want to use one of the glass covers on the tank. It will trap heat and inhibit gas exchange. The top of the tank needs to be open. None of my lights have covers and I've never had a problem either. You may get a little salt buildup on the bulbs in time, but this is easily cleaned off with vinegar.
__________________
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.
Logan J
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2003, 12:47 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 7,224
Send a message via Yahoo to Hara
The only exception to the above great advice would be if you used an HQI system. Those MUST have a glass cover.
__________________
Hara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2003, 02:52 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Norcal
Posts: 438
You need a glass cover over the bulb if youre using a DE halide because there's no uv coating on the bulb itself like a SE or mogul. I wouldnt leave a mh out in the air above water anyway for the reason that reefrunner said.
__________________
I never thought you would, but always knew you could.
biotoxin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2003, 07:21 PM   #7
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 3,968
I run PCs, but have the glass tops. What I did was removed the plastic strip on the back side of the glass tops for a vent and placed the lights above the remaining glass portion, plus my sump is uncovered now. Seems to work for me.

I'm a chicken, but I know the whole electricity and water relationship well, I deal with it often.
__________________
Bearfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2003, 08:17 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Park Rapids, Minn USA
Posts: 173
I have PC's over glass. I do that for the safty and also to avoid a corrosion problem. It can be very costly to have to replace a lighting system. I do all I can to preserve the lfe of them.

Howard
__________________
You can never have too many friends.
fishtender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2003, 03:19 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Detroit MI
Posts: 440
I'll be using SE 250w bulbs. Ok, so, about how far should the acrylic be from the MH bulbs...so that it does not melt. (What is the melting point for acrylic anyways?) Thanks all, and Happy Holidays!
__________________
dansemacabre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2003, 10:02 AM   #10
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 3,968
266 degrees is the melting point for acrylic.

http://www.3d-cam.com/materials/acrylic.asp
__________________

__________________
Bearfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cover

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cover or no cover? phooka Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 9 08-23-2008 04:05 PM
I need some ground cover! maxwell1295 Archive 0 10-09-2006 12:59 AM
Need A Cover Viperboy Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 16 09-08-2006 12:06 AM
What to cover tank with mayreee Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 01-01-2005 05:46 PM
To cover or not to cover my tank JoeA Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 11-19-2004 12:16 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.