To Frag or Not to Frag...?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

GinaD

Aquarium Advice Activist
I have what I beleive is a good opportunity to frag one of my xenia's. It's my first time, so I would like some advice as to how/where to cut. I've always been good at making cutttings of my houseplants, but that's not the same, is it?
One of my xenia decided to stretch and move to another rock, and in the process, attached itself to two separate 'peaks', bridging over them. I am wondering if I cut at the bridge, would it be a good or bad thing.
Do you just go in with a razorblade and slice or what?
I'm a bit afraid I'll kill it. Is fragging the best solution to get more xenia?
(Should I just leave it to the experts and wait to order some from Cindy?) :lol:

Attachments

• xiniafrag_crop.jpg
    xiniafrag_crop.jpg
    145 KB · Views: 133
You can cut it or just lay a rock next to it touching it and it will connect to it. I have also used a rubberband holding it to a rock several times with no issue. Some people use a toothpick and rubberbands. Xenia is very easy to frag. The day is coming when you will post how do I get this xenia out of my tank. :D Be patient. PS You have some aptasia in the left bottom of the picture. Keep a eye on it. It can reproduce and take over your tank in a couple days.

Here's another view of what you think is aptasia. Still think it is? I hope not - I've been feeding it mysis shrimp. Actually, it came from the store that had rocks covered with all varieties of these to sell. This one was all by itself on the glass and I asked if I could have it.

It almost looks like a small Rose Bubble tip. That is not the same one though. The one next to the xenia really looks like aptasia.