Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-21-2009, 07:25 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
GhostKnife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: columbus, ohio
Posts: 703
To rinse or not to rinse

I am about to put my sand and base rock in the tank. I don't think I can rinse as my sand is too fine for my strainer. Is there a other way?
__________________

__________________
Have You Voted For AA Today?
GhostKnife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2009, 07:28 PM   #2
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
Put in a 5 gallon bucket and fill about a 1/4 of the bucket with the sand and then put water in and swish around. Once the sand settles then pour off the cloudy water.
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2009, 07:42 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Charlton, MA
Posts: 544
When i washed my sand i put it in a tub in the sink and ran water while agitating the sand until as clean as possible.
__________________
AMDPhenomX4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2009, 07:50 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
GhostKnife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: columbus, ohio
Posts: 703
okay mel i have my 5 gal... Of course i have that laying around... actually i have 8 of em... any ways I am going to rinse my sand like you said and pour out the cloudy water. I also am wondering. This is how I am going to set up my system. I am doing the sand and base rock tonight and figuring out my ro/di spectrapure system mon tues then start making water. If i rinse the sand it wont hurt it to sit out for a week or two will it? I can cover it with acrylic covers that of which i will not be using once started up. What are your thoughts.
thanks
Dave
__________________
Have You Voted For AA Today?
GhostKnife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2009, 08:32 PM   #5
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
I dont know if I would let it sit out a week or so. Wait till you have your water going and then do it all at the same time. Maybe someone will think differently but I suggest getting the sand and rock in and then add water but I would not let it dry back out. JMO though.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2009, 08:44 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
GhostKnife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: columbus, ohio
Posts: 703
Okay... What would happen if I did not rinse the sand. I do not have a filter so the dust would settle when I do add the water. Right?
__________________
Have You Voted For AA Today?
GhostKnife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2009, 09:17 PM   #7
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
Yes it will settle but instead of it settling in a few days I would imagine it would be a week or longer.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2009, 09:33 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ezy33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco's Barbary Coast
Posts: 2,545
Send a message via ICQ to ezy33
Has anyone tried cheese cloth?
__________________
Not one shred of evidence supports the notion that life is serious.
ezy33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2009, 11:24 PM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
I have found that no matter how much you rinse you will still have a sand storm, the natural oceans have them from time to time as the larger particles and friction break them into smaller ones. I would still suggest Mike's method. I did it that way with 270Lbs of sand, rinsing each bag 6 times!!
I have not tried cheese cloth, maybe some one with experience can chime in....
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2009, 12:04 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 25
Send a message via ICQ to R6Chick Send a message via AIM to R6Chick Send a message via MSN to R6Chick Send a message via Yahoo to R6Chick
Quote:
Originally Posted by ezy33 View Post
Has anyone tried cheese cloth?
I have lined my colander with a double layer of cheese cloth to strain the water out of things like pumpkin puree and such. I don't see why it would not work just as well for even the finest sand.

When I get ready to put everything in my tank and fire it up I was planning on doing the cheese cloth/colander thing to rinse the sand. I will report back with my results when I do. I would not wait for me though, it is going to take a few months to get to the point where it is time to add water and cycle. I refuse to charge anything for my hobby so I have to put a few bucks away every paycheck to finance the setup.
__________________

__________________
Those who would beat their swords into plowshares will plow for those of us who would not.
R6Chick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sand Rinse Woody5465 Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 3 08-26-2009 07:24 PM
To rinse or not to rinse :) missgingersnap Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 02-27-2009 01:18 AM
New Flourite... I rinse and rinse and rinse and... Thaiboxer Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 2 10-02-2006 11:19 PM
Didn't rinse my Southdown well enough. omcnair Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 09-29-2003 09:21 PM
To rinse Sand or not to rinse ReefRaff Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 05-15-2003 11:10 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.