Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-03-2013, 04:12 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Bectan01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: melbourne, australia
Posts: 1,930
To sump or not to sump?

I have been running my 55g for over a year with only loads of live rock, a couple of power heads and a protein skimmer. I am fully stocked with 7 small/medium sized fish and lately some beginner corals. All is well. My friend has a 2ft aquarium that she said I can have. So here is my question - turn it into a sump/fuge? I have no idea how to do that. Will that be a great benefit to my tank, worth the effort? My in tank skimmer would fit in it so i do like that idea. Or should I just turn it into a nano Honest opinions and advise on what I would need equipment wise? My tank is not drilled...
__________________

__________________
Bectan01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 06:11 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jacobdlaw610's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 202
I also have a 55 I added a sump to the added water volume is good for the system I have an overflow box just keep it clean never had a siphon break.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1514557430.jpg
Views:	128
Size:	64.2 KB
ID:	156640  
__________________

__________________
Jacobdlaw610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 10:11 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jaketit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 449
Me too. I've got a 55 also and I built a new stand to house a 20 gallon long as a fuge. Best thing I ever did. Running cheato really helped destroy the hair algae in my tank. I would definitely recommend one. Pretty easy to maintain also verses a canister

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1040025673.jpg
Views:	205
Size:	209.8 KB
ID:	156647
__________________
Jaketit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 10:27 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
forzaazzurri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacobdlaw610 View Post
I also have a 55 I added a sump to the added water volume is good for the system I have an overflow box just keep it clean never had a siphon break.
If the siphon breaks ??? Does this mean you need to call your insurance company for flood damage ?

Is there a backup system that could be implemented.

Ruining my floors is not worth the extra clean water.
__________________
forzaazzurri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 11:37 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Shirtlessbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 334
Quote:
Originally Posted by forzaazzurri View Post

If the siphon breaks ??? Does this mean you need to call your insurance company for flood damage ?

Is there a backup system that could be implemented.

Ruining my floors is not worth the extra clean water.
There are ways around this. The first is to know your "water line". By simply drilling holes below this line if the power goes out the back siphon would naturally break due to the air once the water level gets below the hole. There are valves that prevent this as well. Also, there are electric overflow boxes that will control this.

The best practice however is to leave room in your sump for the chance of a back siphon. Then no water gets on the floor if something does go wrong.

All in all you have some choices

And the short answer is yes. A sump is a very beneficial thing
__________________
Shirtlessbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 05:57 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Bectan01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: melbourne, australia
Posts: 1,930
What gear would I need? The 2ft tank is one whole tank, would I need to divide it? Pumps, plumbing? Thanks for you help guys...
__________________
Bectan01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 06:55 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Shirtlessbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 334
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bectan01 View Post
What gear would I need? The 2ft tank is one whole tank, would I need to divide it? Pumps, plumbing? Thanks for you help guys...
Depends on the set up. If you just want a sump dividers are not necessary (however, they will help with bubbles) but I do think that a big benefit of a sump is the Refugium. So I definitely recommend having one.

Needed Parts: filter sock, skimmer, return pump, hosing (or PVC)

With Refugium: live sand (many varieties), live rock, macro algae (multiple varieties, and copepods.

Extra: UV sterilizer, dosing pumps, media canisters, auto top off system.

The sump is a very versatile part of the system so i don't mean to bombard you. I just want you to know the majority of what you can do with a sump.
__________________
Shirtlessbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 11:17 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
San Raphael Catfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Spokane
Posts: 389
I also have a 55 gallon tank. It is an all glass brand aquarium and made of tempered glass and has warning stickers not to drill.

We have ordered a CPR HOB Aquafuge 2 Large with protein skimmer. That adds appx 5 gallons and gets me the skimmers and the refugium I need. Running for about 300.00 shipped through one of Amazon partners.

They also have them cheaper without the skimmer.

There are some videos on YouTube of the Aquafuge 2.

SRC
__________________
55 Gallon, DIY Live Rock, 2 Taotronics 130w LEDs, CPR HOB skimmer and refugium, 525 GPH SunSun 5-stage Canister with UV Sterilizer using Chemi-pure Elite, and Two Fishes GFO reactor and 3 800 GPH powerheads. <><
San Raphael Catfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 01:42 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jeffaquarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bectan01 View Post
What gear would I need? The 2ft tank is one whole tank, would I need to divide it? Pumps, plumbing? Thanks for you help guys...
Just make sure you are ready for the plumbing jobs required to install the overflow pipings to your Sump and the return pump. Normally 1 inch PVC pipe will do with ball valves on both intake and return pipes. You need to research a little bit on how to built or configure your sump. Having unions (pvc pipe connectors) on both side will be convenient to make changes on your configuration.
__________________
jeffaquarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 05:55 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
paul87's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 4,267
I added a sump when I switched to my 39 gallon. I drilled it myself and used the herbie method. I'm glad I did too. Its quite and is running great. Adds about 20 more gallons and a refugium that I keep chaeto in.

Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130305_155421.jpg
Views:	186
Size:	60.5 KB
ID:	157248
__________________

__________________

paul87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

« BTA | Angel fish »
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.