Toadstool

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ziggy953

Aquarium Advice Addict
Hey everyone!!

I have canopy off of my tank right now and I've got an itch to frag this giant toad I have. I've never done it before and need some help. Please chime in. Thanks

Before the answers start coming in, so I can keep up: what's 'frag' mean?

Sarcophyton just to be accurate? How large is the stalk and can the rock be removed?

It is attached to more then one piece of rock. I don't want to remove the entire coral I just would like to frag some of it. The pics below you can kind of see what I'm talking about.

1010555mediumeu0.jpg

lillycleanwv3.jpg

I would either cut the stalk straight through or round the diameter (pinwheel) about 1"-2" with a new razor. There will be much mucus so definitely run carbon and direct flow to the coral after cutting.

I saw Julian Sprung frag a leather like that. All he did was get scissors and started cutting it up and then rubber banded the frags to pieces of lr rubble.
Dunno about doing it in the display tho. I'm pretty sure it will slime up big time.

Yeah I think I will hold off on fragging it until I move it to the new tank. I don't want to cause a chemical war in my tank.

I was at an Anthony Calfo frag demo a couple of years ago and then had to frag my leather when I got back from a trip to India a year ago. I had to lose the stalk, but yours should grow right back. If you can't remove for fragging, get more flow to it when you're done and run carbon.