Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-12-2009, 11:46 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
GhostKnife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: columbus, ohio
Posts: 703
Top Off

Okay so I have done some research and cannot seem to find a clear way to do a good gravity fed top off system. I was thinking of going electric but there are just so many more ways that this could fail... or am I wrong. Neilanh's top off was pretty cool...(not to scare you if you read this) but what if the pump fails and you are away for a day or two... I dont know I just need a little information to kind of jump start my next project. I guess I am just confused. I want something that will hold about 5 - 7 gallons of water. That would probably last me about 4 days or so... That is an estimate. I use a cup(for drinking) now so I dont know how much I go through in a day. That and it relies on my skimmer some too as to how much in a day it takes out.
__________________

__________________
Have You Voted For AA Today?
GhostKnife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2009, 12:19 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
partypalooza5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to partypalooza5 Send a message via Yahoo to partypalooza5
Have you looked into float valves? I think they can work with gravity fed systems.
__________________

__________________
75G FOWLR Build

partypalooza5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2009, 01:32 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
GhostKnife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: columbus, ohio
Posts: 703
Well I decided to go with the dual float switch and the dosing/top off pump. I keep an eye on the tank all the time anyways and this will allow for me to make water more frequently. It will Im sure help my tank.
__________________
Have You Voted For AA Today?
GhostKnife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2009, 05:18 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
I settled for the one that BRS sells. It's worked flawlessly for over a year now. No problems at all...It has two float valves, One as a failsafe and I picked up another for a low level for the container that the water is in so I don't burn the pump.
Knock on corals.......
TC
__________________
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2009, 01:40 PM   #5
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,362
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
This may not be exactly what your looking for, but it's the autotopoff.com dual switch ATO.

The float switches keep the water level constant in the sump. The upper 1 is a safety incase the lower switch fails.


The float switch turns on/off the powerhead which feeds the sump. The float valve inside the container is connected to my RO/DI to keep the container full.


The whole sump/ATO setup.
__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2009, 04:33 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Warrensburg, IL
Posts: 568
Send a message via AIM to TheChad
ccCapt: Why not just have the float valve in your sump and refill directly from your R/O?

I am asking because this is what I plan on doing, unless there is a good reason not to? I have 5g in my Pressure tanks from my R/O that's more than enough to Top Off my sump.

-TheChad
__________________
90 Gallon Drilled Glass Tank w/ Corner Overflow: 492w (2x 150w 14,000K MH, 2x 96w Actinic CF) Coralife Aqualight Pro | Custom 34x15x15 Sump/Refugium | SWC Skimmer | Coralife Turbo-Twist 6x UV Sterilizer | Maxi-Jet Power Head w/Sure Flow Upgrade Kit | 120lbs of Live Rock | 100lbs of Live Sand
TheChad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2009, 09:27 PM   #7
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,362
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
2 reasons.
1- My RO is also connected to a faucet for drinking. The RO/DI goes into the storage container. If I have my RO/DI running, there is no water at the RO faucet. I only run the RO/DI when the container gets low. It's not on all the time.
2- It is VERY DANGEROUS to have a continual source of freshwater going directly into your sump. If the float valve fails or gets stuck, it can flood the system with freshwater, drop your salinity and kill everything in your tank.
__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2009, 10:39 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
GhostKnife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: columbus, ohio
Posts: 703
Very interesting points being made here. I did not go to autotopoff.com but I got the dual switch just like yours is setup. I am going to be filling a container with ro/di and a powerhead or so in it. A 5-7 gallon bucket will sit next to my tank and I will fill this bucket as needed. From the bucket it will go into my sump. Pretty good?
__________________
Have You Voted For AA Today?
GhostKnife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2009, 05:51 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
That's what I have. I got my unit from autotopoff.com. I thought it was from BRS but it's from ato.com.
__________________
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2009, 09:23 AM   #10
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,362
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
Quote:
Originally Posted by GhostKnife View Post
Very interesting points being made here. I did not go to autotopoff.com but I got the dual switch just like yours is setup. I am going to be filling a container with ro/di and a powerhead or so in it. A 5-7 gallon bucket will sit next to my tank and I will fill this bucket as needed. From the bucket it will go into my sump. Pretty good?
Sounds like a plan. Should work just fine.
__________________

__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to top off? ferchoz Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 10 07-29-2009 05:09 PM
Glass Top VS Egg Crate Top Spazz67 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 14 09-07-2008 03:10 PM
Thoughts on open top vs. glass top 7Enigma Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 28 08-26-2007 11:39 PM
Top WarOrks15 DIY Projects 7 04-19-2004 05:35 PM
Top or no top? Brisc0 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 9 01-19-2004 06:23 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.