Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-17-2009, 02:30 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: tallahassee, florida
Posts: 990
Torch Coral Wont Open

Hello all,
I got a torch coral about a week ago and it still has yet to open up like in LFS. It looks like its holding back. I am not sure what it may not like about its spot in the tank. It is in direct lighting, and medium flow. My lighting is now about 160W of T5. (4-24in, VHO T5 bulbs driven with an IceCap).
My tank is 20g.
Maybe the torch doesnt like the direct light? Maybe needs more flow?

My new frogspawn looks nice! Its loving its spot I guess. (Has opened up incredibly!).

Also, my new Fluval 305 seems to be a bit strong. Any way to adjust the flow rate? No matter where I point the output nozzle, its just a bit too much seeing as a 20gallon is the size it is. (A tall one).

Thanks!
Matt
__________________

__________________
mrg02d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2009, 02:47 PM   #2
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
My new one took about a week to take off. Are your water test results OK?
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2009, 03:05 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: tallahassee, florida
Posts: 990
Hello,
My parameters are all good.
Ammonia: 0
Nitrite:0
Nitrate: "0" (I dont see how this could be zero, as I dont do anything special aside from PWC each week).
SG: 1.025
Temp:80F
Calcium: 460ppm
dKH:9
Phosphate: 0.5ppm (Maybe this is too high?)

I have heard that running bulbs too hot will cause them to shift their wavelenghts. Is this correct? I dont know how hot my bulbs are since they are completely enclosed, but I do have a strong fan blowing of the fixture and under it. It stays warm, but not hot.

Is it possible to have too much light?
Matt
__________________
mrg02d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2009, 04:02 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Charlton, MA
Posts: 544
Well, I moved a bunch of frog spawn from my 40G to my 180G and they were open in hours, this while going from PC lights to halides. Is anything irritating it?

Your nitrate can be 0. If you do a PWC weekly you shouldn't have much of a nitrate level at all. Try moving the torch next to the frogspawn. Both are the same family, and like the same flow and lighting.
__________________
AMDPhenomX4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2009, 04:30 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: tallahassee, florida
Posts: 990
Hello,
I moved the torch down to the bottom next to my frogspawn. We will see how it does there.

I am surprised to see my Nitrates are 0 because they tend to be around the 10-20ppm mark usually. I dont do anything besides weekly 15% PWC. Well, I also cut feeding down somewhat to deal with diatoms and cyano.

My phosphates are now 0 today after adding my new fluval 305 with clearmax in it. Ive read that 0 phosphates can be bad. Is this true? Should I remove the clearmax now so as to allow a little phosphate to remain for the corals?
EDIT: Maybe my Crocea Clam is responsible for removing the nitrates? I read they use them.
Matt
__________________
mrg02d is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
coral, torch

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new leather wont open divedeep1689 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 14 11-12-2009 07:15 PM
Metal Halide/ too much/ wont open Generalx5 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 11-10-2009 02:00 AM
Zoos Wont open Zer0 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 09-09-2009 08:17 PM
zoas wont open salty419 Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 6 05-23-2009 07:34 PM
coral wont open fully HoCkEyGmC Nano Reefs 22 09-01-2008 12:37 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.