Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-27-2015, 01:08 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 83
Transferring fish

Hello everybody,

I'm currently purchased a 54 gallon corner aquarium (bow-front). I want to transfer my fish I currently have in my old tank to the 54gallon. I heard that you must cycle the water for the new aquarium or you can put water from the old aquarium to provide the fish with bacteria. I'm not sure what is the best solution in transferring fish. Also I'm looking into buying a cpr hob refugium from Dr. foster site( is it worth buying?)


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
enervate7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 02:25 AM   #2
member

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Lawrence, Ks
Posts: 3,907
I would setup the tank this way. But this is just me. Take as much water as you can from the established tank. Add to new tank. Fill tank rest of way. Add 1 cap full of prime. Start filter. Check levels in a few hours. Hopefully youll getvenough beneficial bacteria from the established water to significantly reduce cycle time. Established plants, wood, filter media can all be added to help reduce cycling time. How much faster it makes it is still a guessing game. Depends on too many variables, I.E... new or established substrate, tap or ro water, if tap whats the tap like in your city, or well or blah blah blah. But stsrting with established tank water helps cut down a lot of time on cycling, but still must be monitored before adding fish in my opinion. Hope this helps a little. Happy tanking!

Sent from my SM-G900P using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
PoppaRyno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 02:25 AM   #3
member

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Lawrence, Ks
Posts: 3,907
Oh and i say 1 cap of prime because 1 cap does 50 gals.

Sent from my SM-G900P using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
PoppaRyno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 10:11 AM   #4
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,552
One suggestion I always give is to get new sand in the tank. Old sand is a trap for old food and poop. No reason to bring that over. Even rinsing the rock before moving it over in old tank water could be a good idea.
There is almost no beneficial bacteria in the water column. It is in the rock and sand. If you are moving the rock over you will not have to re-cycle your tank.
Just use lots of 5 gallon buckets so you can rinse off the rock and hold livestock while you put the rock, sand, and new saltwater into the new tank. Once everything has settled you can move the livestock in, though depending on how sensitive they are, like inverts as example, you may want to drip acclimate them to the new water.
When it comes to the HOB refugium, for a tank that size I don't think it would do very much. If that is the route you want to go, I would look into a HOB overflow and put a refugium under the tank. Bigger is better and can export more nutrients.
Sniperhank is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 11:39 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Reefing Madness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: AZ
Posts: 577
Water does not carry the necessary bacteria to cycle anyones tank. Its the Live Rock that carries the majority of the bacteria.
Remove the sand from your old tank, rinse it really really well, until the water runs clear through it. You can reuse it this way, it won't harm anything in your new tank. Put the sand in, fill the tank most of the way with SW. Grab the rock out of your old tank, let the system run for 3-4 days, this will cycle the tank quickly. Providing you had enough Live Rock in the old tank. Leave water circulating in the old tank for the fish, they will be ok in there for a few days without anything.
Other way to do it is, emtpy the tank water into your bathtub, before stirring up the tank or removing anything. Put a heater in there and a powerhead.
Remove the sand, rinse well. Set up new tank, fill 2/3rds water, add live rock, fill the rest of the way. Add skimmer a heater and powerheads, let run for a few days, then your all set.
If you do not do one of the above, your new tank will go through a cycle, and this you do not want. If it does, and you add fish, you will be chasing your tail with water changes, trying to keep the ammonia at 0.
__________________
Reefing Madness Tank Pics
Reefing Madness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 11:51 AM   #6
member

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Lawrence, Ks
Posts: 3,907
Lol. I thought it was abt freshwater. Disregsrd me

Sent from my SM-G900P using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
PoppaRyno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 02:05 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 83
Okay, sounds good I was probably going to purchase new sand or crush corals for the new tank. I only have one filter at this time which is running on the old tank. Would it be okay if I transfer portions of the old tank's live rock during the course of several days ? I was thinking of using a power head to circulate new tank .unfortunately My budget can't cover for a new filter( fluval canister)


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
enervate7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 03:27 PM   #8
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,552
Don't do crushed coral substrate. Extra food and poop gets stuck in there and can be a pain.
In terms of your canister and powerheads, just move them over from the old tank. There shouldn't be any issues with that.
Sniperhank is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 09:58 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Reefing Madness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: AZ
Posts: 577
Your going to need the Live Rock to seed the new tank, and keep it from cycling. If you can't get it all in there at one time, for a few days, then transfer what you can at one time. then make sure the rest goes in the day the fish do.
__________________
Reefing Madness Tank Pics
Reefing Madness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 11:02 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 83
Okay I manage to clean some of the sand with rdo/di water I'm processing saltwater atm. I already transfer portions of the live rocks in the new tank and left the other in the old tank with live stock. Once my sw is process I will run a few test and put it in and transfer the fish one by one. For the overflow box how to I go about installing a refugium? I don't really understand the refugium set up or how it cleans the aquarium mechanically? How do I go about setting a overflow and refugium to the tank? Thank you all for you help! I will post pictures once complete.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
enervate7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fish, transfer

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Advice for transferring fish to another aquarium? Whiscash Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 11-19-2011 07:44 PM
Help with transferring fish to bigger tank lyndonmsp Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 6 08-11-2009 04:13 AM
transferring fish within your own aquariums... Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 14 08-08-2006 10:39 PM
Transferring fish. Too early? Satsumas Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 11-22-2005 05:31 AM
Transferring Fish to new Larger Tank pdade Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 6 07-01-2002 03:23 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.