Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-03-2012, 10:28 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 78
Transferring Sand from old tank...?

Hey all, I'm going to be upgrading tanks and had a question about my sand. I've had this present tank up and running for one year. I want to use the sand in this tank in the new tank. But will transferring it be harmful to the inhanbitants in the new tank because the sand is not fresh and clean? Also, if I rinse it before I place it in the new tank, doesn't that defeat the purpose of keeping it because of all of the beneficial bacteria in it? What should I do?
__________________

__________________
stevedpepper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 10:33 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
christine2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: fredericksburg Va
Posts: 978
Put it in! Don't rinse it.
__________________

__________________
"Be exactly who you want to be, do what you want to do! I am he and she is she, but, you're the only YOU!"
christine2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 11:16 AM   #3
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,362
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
You can reuse it. I would highly suggest you take the sand out, put it in a bucket, take it outside and stick a garden hose in the bucket and rinse the sand thoroughly. Rinse it until the water pouring over the side runs clear. This will kill most if not all the beneficial bacteria that was living on the sand, but it will also flush out all the crap that accumulated in the sand. Just taking the sand out and not rinsing it will disturb and mix up all the stuff that settled in it and more than likely cause an ammonia spike. The loss of the good bacteria by rinsing it is offset by the fact the possible ammonia spike from not rinsing it can affect your fish and/or corals.
__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 11:49 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Carpious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: LINCS UK
Posts: 38
+1 on thoroughly rinsing in loads of fresh water then a final rinse in RODI. If any doubt is remaining lay it out to dry in the sun. Yes, it will be devoid of all life but it doesn't take long before it's thriving again.
__________________
Carpious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 12:54 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
christine2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: fredericksburg Va
Posts: 978
Quote:
Originally Posted by christine2012
Put it in! Don't rinse it.
Sorry. I didn't think you'd want to kill your BB.
__________________
"Be exactly who you want to be, do what you want to do! I am he and she is she, but, you're the only YOU!"
christine2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 12:57 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
Yep, you for sure want to rinse it before using it again. Moving the sand can muck it up and all the nasties that are trapped in teh sand will be released causing swings in parameters.

I usually just buy new sand for a new or upgrade tank, easier and less trouble in the end. I just got 40lbs of aragonite sand from reefrocks.net for like $20-$25 I believe it was.
__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 12:59 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
christine2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: fredericksburg Va
Posts: 978
Quote:
Originally Posted by carey
Yep, you for sure want to rinse it before using it again. Moving the sand can muck it up and all the nasties that are trapped in teh sand will be released causing swings in parameters.

I usually just buy new sand for a new or upgrade tank, easier and less trouble in the end. I just got 40lbs of aragonite sand from reefrocks.net for like $20-$25 I believe it was.
Sometimes I stir my sand to release all that yuck. Could this do the same thing to my params?
__________________
"Be exactly who you want to be, do what you want to do! I am he and she is she, but, you're the only YOU!"
christine2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 01:07 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
Yep, I never ever disturb my sandbed in my tanks.

If I use a vacuum I might sometimes barely touch the surface of the sand but I never move it around. Actually, I don't remember the last time i actually used a vacuum in my salt tanks. lol I usually just use a pump to pump water out for my water changes.

If you have proper flow in the tank then you shouldnt see any build up on the sand. maybe some colorful goo under the sand line but thats about it/.
__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 01:23 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
christine2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: fredericksburg Va
Posts: 978
Quote:
Originally Posted by carey
Yep, I never ever disturb my sandbed in my tanks.

If I use a vacuum I might sometimes barely touch the surface of the sand but I never move it around. Actually, I don't remember the last time i actually used a vacuum in my salt tanks. lol I usually just use a pump to pump water out for my water changes.

If you have proper flow in the tank then you shouldnt see any build up on the sand. maybe some colorful goo under the sand line but thats about it/.
Good to know.
__________________
"Be exactly who you want to be, do what you want to do! I am he and she is she, but, you're the only YOU!"
christine2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 01:33 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Grizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Saratoga NY
Posts: 1,806
Just rinse the sand in your old salt water fill a 5 gallon pail 1/4 full of sand fill with your old tank water and stir, dump off what floats, scoop sand from pail and place in new tank I did this when i upgraded from a 90 to a 180 and never had a problem
__________________

__________________
Most people create their own problems by not following the basics and refusing to stock appropriate to their system. Gregcoyote 2013

SPS = Stability Promotes Success
Grizz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sand, tan, transfer

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.