Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-25-2013, 06:12 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Dimdim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 862
Cant tell with the strips u need liquid ammonia, nitrite and nitrate tests to be fully sure. Those strip tests. Are inaccurate
__________________

__________________
Dimdim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 06:19 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
kwandrsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Nunnelly Tennessee
Posts: 2,072
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dimdim View Post
Cant tell with the strips u need liquid ammonia, nitrite and nitrate tests to be fully sure. Those strip tests. Are inaccurate
+1 on that

I use API liquid kits for both freshwater and saltwater and I can tell you if, you order them online they are cheaper for the saltwater master kit my lfs wants $45 I ordered it for $20
__________________

__________________
kwandrsn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 06:26 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Tysob44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 153
I agree 100% but at the moment don't have the flow to buy it so I am using what I have
__________________
Tysob44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 06:26 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Dimdim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 862
Yep agreed. I am currently in the process of switching test kits from api to seachem.
__________________
Dimdim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 06:29 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
kwandrsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Nunnelly Tennessee
Posts: 2,072
API kits have their faults but a lfs, that only deals with fish and especially saltwater fish and coral uses api kits so I'll use then
__________________
kwandrsn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 06:33 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Dimdim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 862
I never had a problem with api either. But im looking into different companies to see which one gives me best of luck
__________________
Dimdim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 06:34 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Tysob44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 153
So back to my stupid strips the nitrite square stayed white to me does that mean there is none or can I not test that at all
__________________
Tysob44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 08:24 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ingy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Comox, BC, Canada
Posts: 1,837
If your nitrite level is 0, which is very possible, and you have a elevated Nitrate level, then, yes, your probably cycled.If they're both at 0, which is hard to tell in the photo, then your cycle hasn't gotten vary far. But it looks like you may have nitrate, which is a good thing.
__________________
Ingy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 08:37 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Tysob44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 153
Believe my trates were at 80
__________________
Tysob44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 11:01 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 147
how did you start your cycle???? what did you use?

i don't see an ammonia test...

in this hobby you need a lot of patience my friend.
__________________

__________________
TimaT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
6 gallon, bowfront, reef

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.