Uh oh, didn't see this coming

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

FishFrik

Aquarium Advice FINatic
About 1 or 2 week ago, i took my AC and Phosguard out of the bubble diffuser box and stopped using them b/c they keep clogging the box and I couldn't find any other place to put them. Everything was gonna well til' 2 days ago, cyano is forming here and there on my sand bed, glass and my skimmer's pump. So im asking How do u get rid of this?

Im gonna run some phosguard again tomorrow, do a 5G WC and try to syphon the cyano on the sandbed. is there anything else i could do?

TIA

have you tested the ro water your unit produces for p04

Yes, 0 PO4, 0 NO3

i don't think my topoffs are the cause since i've been topping off with this water for 5 months and no cyano til now

IF you are using RO alone without a DI stage you are not removing PO4 from the water. It may be a good idea to test your source water for NO3 and PO4.

Also get some circulation where the cyno is with a powerhead after you vacuum it up and it will not allow it to resettle there.

I already tested the topoff water source. 0 NO3 and 0 PO4

I tried to syphon the slime out yesterday while doing WC but the slime is too heavy to be syphoned out T.T I used my hand to take out as much as i can and covered up the spots that i couldn't reach with sand. I also add a big chunk of phosguard yesterday lol. Hope it'll help with the phosphate problem. I also pointed my left PH to the back of the tank, hoping to increase flow around that area.

Does cyano feeds on nitrate?

Do i have to physically remove the slime? or If the PO4 is depleted, the slime will disappear?

Thanks alot for the replies guys

I feed daily with formula 1. I feed pellets after pellets to avoid sinking the pellets to the bottom. I stop feeding til my fish's stomach looks kinda full.