understanding calc/alk

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jarrett

Aquarium Advice Freak
So i am new to this dosing world, of calcium and alkalinity and i think i have a slight hold of what i am doing here just want to be confirmed that i am correct. my calcium has been low since i started my 75 gallon reef tank. it was at 200 and then i switched to instant ocean reef crystals which jumped it up to 310. i just did a water change yesterday and my caclium is up to 360 now. i am going to buy a 2 part additive today and a Alk test (already have calcium). heres my question. i am going to dose the 2 part a specific dose every day untill i get my paramerters where they are suppose to be correct? after doing this i planned on dripping kalk through my ato to keep those levels constant. is this the correct way to be using my kalkawasser. and the correct way of going about all this. just need some guidance so i know i am doing everything right thanks guys.

Before you start dosing anything, get a better test kit. It's virtually impossible for a saltwater system to have calcium at 200ppm. Once it gets below around 350 nothing, as in corals or coralline algae, can utilize it. Calcification stops when calcium get below 350 and since nothing uses it, it doesn't drop anymore.

i already have all the proper test kits, that reading was from a LFS. i am surprised 87 people looked at this and your the only one with a response lol.

Jarrett said: