Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-24-2004, 02:45 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 468
Updated Info (w/pic) for auto top off setup

I have found that with my auto top off setup, once the PH shuts off, the water continues to flow into my sump. To stop this, I have cut a small hole in the return line near the end to let some air in and added the setup you see in the pic below. Now the water flow is stopped immediately when the PH shuts off . (breaks the syphon I guess).



Here is the initial write up for the auto top off setup.

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewto...658&highlight=

Happy Holidays,
Jim
__________________

__________________
JamesR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2004, 04:06 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
I put a loop in the hose and it helps stop mine..... Every so often it keeps going and I have to empty the sup out...... Where is the hole I may try that also.
__________________

__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2004, 12:31 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 468
I put the hole about 4 inches above the bottom of the hose. Don't know if that helps, but the piece on the end sure seemed to, so far everything is working very well. Wish i would have done this months ago!

Jim
__________________
JamesR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2004, 12:59 AM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
Definately need a anti-siphon hole. On the sump side, the hose is above water. I have the anti-siphon hole right above the pump in the top off water container. I make sure I never fill above that hole.
__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
auto, auto top off, pic, setup, updated

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Auto Top Off??? happygirl65 DIY Projects 2 02-12-2008 06:32 PM
auto feeder/auto-top off drip? pspiegel Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 13 12-14-2006 09:33 AM
Auto Top-Off got bait? General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 11-12-2004 01:24 PM
New sump *just updated with pic of setup in action* Brisc0 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 15 07-03-2004 11:12 AM
Auto top off... gooyferret Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 09-20-2003 03:46 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.