Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-21-2013, 09:32 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Raleighfishnerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 740
Upgrade

Getting ready to upgrade from a 10g to 40g breeder just wondering the best way to switch everything over. Should I just take all livestock and coral put into a bucket then move sand and rocks over wait for it to clear up then check levels and then drip acclimate and put in livestock in? Seems too easy am I missing something?
__________________

__________________
Raleighfishnerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 09:45 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
How old is the 10gallon? I'm not sure I would move the sand over if it's been up for a while.
Are you adding more rock to the 40?
The best way to do this is to add your new rock and new sand to the 40b, cycle it, then move everything (rock and livestock) over all at once to the cycled 40.
If you are putting it in the same spot, use some furniture mover sliders under the 40b, and you'll be able to slide it right in place after you move the 10.
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 10:33 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Raleighfishnerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 740
Tank has been up for 2 months. Have about 20lbs in the 10 and just got another 15-20lbs live for it and I have some dry as well
__________________
Raleighfishnerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 10:49 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Oh..well, I wouldn't be too concerned with a 2 month old sand bed. I would still cycle the 40b with all the new stuff before adding the 10's contents.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 10:58 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Raleighfishnerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 740
Ok then looks like the start of another cycle! Thanks for the help. I can't screw anything up in this transfer because this is my girlfriends tank I setup for her.
__________________
Raleighfishnerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 11:11 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
As a matter of fact, when you do your water changes on the 10, vacuum out some of the sand bed with it, and pour that sand and water right in the 40b. This way, you have saved your existing sand bed and won't have to worry about clouding up the water with the livestock in it in a few weeks when you transfer everything over.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 11:25 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Raleighfishnerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 740
Good thinking I wouldn't have thought to do that. Thanks
__________________
Raleighfishnerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 11:52 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Aquamandan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Holly Springs, NC
Posts: 466
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raleighfishnerd View Post
Ok then looks like the start of another cycle! Thanks for the help. I can't screw anything up in this transfer because this is my girlfriends tank I setup for her.
You won't have to start another cycle if you use the same filter media as the one that is in your 10.
__________________
Aquamandan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 05:14 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
I'm under the impression the OP is going to add 3 times the rock to the 40b, along with more livestock. You will need a much larger bacteria colony than what lives in the 10 gallon. A little bit of filter media, or even 10 pounds of rock will not be sufficient IMO.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 11:27 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Raleighfishnerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 740
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_X View Post
I'm under the impression the OP is going to add 3 times the rock to the 40b, along with more livestock. You will need a much larger bacteria colony than what lives in the 10 gallon. A little bit of filter media, or even 10 pounds of rock will not be sufficient IMO.
It will be about 40lbs of live rock plus about 10 dry and the live sand from the 10g and about 5lbs of live rock rubble in the sump. The extra rock has been in my other tanks. So would the bacteria colony possibly be sufficient enough to transfer everything?
__________________

__________________
Raleighfishnerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.