Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-12-2013, 12:43 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
forzaazzurri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 126
Upgrading new tank cycle ??

I am upgrading to a bigger tank and want to fully cycle the upgrade before I move my inhabitants over. I am moving everything over except for the sand which will be new.

Can I cycle the new tank by moving half of my live rock over or do I still need an ammonia source ?

Thanks
__________________

__________________
forzaazzurri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 01:13 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Hasbrouck Heights, NJ
Posts: 900
Send a message via AIM to Breakthecycle2
If you add your live rock, you will not even need to wait to cycle.
__________________

__________________
Breakthecycle2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 01:49 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,572
Quote:
Originally Posted by Breakthecycle2 View Post
If you add your live rock, you will not even need to wait to cycle.
Agreed, if your live rock is already cycled with your current fish load then you don't need to worry about there being any issues when you switch over. You do however need to make absolutely sure to cure the rock before adding anything in with the new rock.

Even when you buy dry rock it can have a ton of compounds that will break down into ammonia residing on them.
__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 09:23 PM   #4
member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto
Posts: 620
Really put your old stuff into your new tank than cycle you new rock in your old tank?
__________________
ivan_dalmatia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 02:23 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
huma-huma's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: washington Pa
Posts: 5,257
Any sort of holing bin would work. Just make sure you test the water every so often so you know when the curing is done
__________________
my 125g Sw...Round 2!http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...220171-33.html
ever see someone cut a 125g in half??
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...-286438-4.html
huma-huma is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle, new tank, tan, tank, upgrading

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.