Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-31-2007, 12:35 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Upgrading tank size

The time has come!...actaully, it is on sad news, the freshwater 29 gallon got a major viral infection that annihalated the tank. So, I am using this opportunity to upgrade my 10 gallon nano tank to saltwater..in the next month or two I will start the move I believe.

The 10 gallon tank has about 15-20 lbs live sand (the real fine, white stuff) around 20 lbs live rock, a few nassarius snails, about 7 hermit crabs, an banded clinging crab, a green emerald crab, a small (VERY small) rock crab, a camel shrimp, and a domino damsel. And some beautiful ricordia and various mushrooms and some orange ball anemones on the LR. I have 2 80gph power heads and a 40gph power filter (the power filter is stayin on the 10 gallon tank) The tank has been running ifne for a while, with only a diatom problem (brown algae)

Everything in the 10 gallon except the power filter and the 40 watts of lighting is able to be moved over (there is already sufficient heating on the 29 gallon (2 100 watt heaters) The 29 gal comes with about 200 gph filtration between 2 HOB filters, and vastly insufficient lighting (like 20 watts of T5 lighting)


So, the quistion is, what all will I need for the tank that I dont have? I imagine about 30-40 lbs live sand, 20-40 lbs live rock, I am thinking about a HOB refugium and possibly a canister filter. Doing a sump is simply not possible atm, and I really dont want a sump on this small a tank. I know I need better lighting, how much? The stipulation for this tank is taht it can keep some of the soft corals, mushrooms, polyps, and a few others at least, and an anemone, so how much lighting at least? I was plannin on 96 watt upgrade on the 10 gallon, but since I am upgrading that iwll not be happening, but that is an idea of the type of lighting I dont mind having.. Um, anything else that I need, please let me know so I can start making a list.
__________________

__________________
Jarred Darque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2007, 12:57 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
I think that the HOB Refugium is a great idea! Adds water volume and provides a place for natural biological filtration. I'm not a fan of the canister filters as they are a lot of work, what with cleaning them frequently to keep nitrates down. As for the lighting if you are going to add some more light demanding corals to the tank I would recomend somewhere around 150w total. You could use PCs or even a MH.
__________________

Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2007, 01:16 AM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Devilishturtles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Frederick, Maryland
Posts: 8,544
Send a message via Yahoo to Devilishturtles
I have the Coralife 2 x 65 watt PC lights on my 29 gallon and I really like them. I'm growing everything from zoos to lesser light demanding sps in there.

I am using a AC500 modded refugium for now. So far so good, but haven't had it running long enough to see if that small a water volume makes a difference in nitrates and water quality.
__________________
-Lindsay

Live in the Western MD/West Virginia/DC Metro Area?
Join our very active regional forum Here

Like the advice someone just gave you? Add to their reputation! Click on the balance icon underneath their username and let them know.
Devilishturtles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2007, 01:37 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
AC500 aquaclear? Canyou post the link to the mod sites for those please?

Do you run any other type of filtration? or just the refug and power heads? and as far as PHs, what are you using? I also have a 250gph PH (maybe more, maybe like 350gph+ but it is in my 75gal and I think it is too much for a 29)
__________________
Jarred Darque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2007, 03:49 AM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
Have a look at this 29g tank and all that is in it. It may give you some ideas of what you can do with your tank.

http://www.melevsreef.com/29g.html

HTH
__________________
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2007, 10:14 AM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
Devilishturtles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Frederick, Maryland
Posts: 8,544
Send a message via Yahoo to Devilishturtles
Melevs page is really awesome. I keep going back to it for reference everytime I get stuck with my 29 gallon.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jarred Darque
AC500 aquaclear? Canyou post the link to the mod sites for those please?

Do you run any other type of filtration? or just the refug and power heads? and as far as PHs, what are you using? I also have a 250gph PH (maybe more, maybe like 350gph+ but it is in my 75gal and I think it is too much for a 29)
Here is the best link I found:

http://www.oc-creative.com/reef/foru...?TID=1331&PN=1

It's pretty easy to set up. One thing not included in that post though is that I found it neccesary to trim down the impellors on the intake. If you don't, the AC just puts out waaaaaay too much flow to act as a proper refugium. Again, we're talking about 1 gallon or less of refugium space, but it's worth a try and a fun experiment.

As far as other filtration, I run an Aqua-C Remora skimmer (I love it), the AC 500, though it isn't really filtration, 2 powerheads (one Penguin 550 at 145 gph and an AC30 at 174 gph). I'd ideally like either another powerhead or stonger powerheads in my tank, but I'm thinking about upgrading tank size so I've sorta held off on that idea for a while.

You can see pictures of my tank in my gallery.
__________________
-Lindsay

Live in the Western MD/West Virginia/DC Metro Area?
Join our very active regional forum Here

Like the advice someone just gave you? Add to their reputation! Click on the balance icon underneath their username and let them know.
Devilishturtles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2007, 05:56 PM   #7
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,242
Skimmer and LR is all the filtration you need. As far as your sand I would not transfer alot of it over as it will have alot of nasty stuff in it. Maybe just a cup for seeding the new sand. Congrats on the upgrade even though I`m sorry about what happened to the original occupants.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2007, 07:11 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
So dont transfer sand from old tnak to new? right now I only have a 1.5inch deep sand bed in the 10 gallon.
__________________
Jarred Darque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2007, 08:50 PM   #9
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,242
IMO I would not transfer all of it but maybe a cup for seeding purposes. Sand is pretty cheap and it aint worth all the trouble.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2007, 02:14 AM   #10
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
I agree....pain in the sump I mean rump....
__________________

__________________
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tan, tank size, upgrading, upgrading tank, upgrading tank size

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
upgrading tank smnw10 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 11-20-2008 11:01 AM
Upgrading tank size ken_wied Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 4 11-18-2006 07:14 PM
upgrading a tank GoodFish Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 05-01-2005 10:57 PM
What size refugium per size tank? doughboydj Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 06-15-2004 10:15 PM
upgrading tank plags Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 13 09-19-2003 03:25 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.