Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-11-2007, 09:58 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Buckeye, AZ
Posts: 177
UPGRADING TANKS

I need to find out I will be upgrading my 29gl tank to a 50gl in the next couple of weeks, could I take the water from the 29 and put it into the 50 and then just add enough sw for top off and then transfer everything from the 29 to the 50, or should I start from scratch with the water and sand?

All I have at this time in the 29 is 1 clown and a clean up crew.

I am open to all sugestions. Thanks in advance.
__________________

__________________
SassyAngel111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2007, 11:48 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
I would just move everything and add enough premixed to fill it up. I would also have extra PWC just in case. But you should be good to go. Congrats on the larger tank!
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2007, 01:45 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
lando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 7,889
Best thing to do is to move the water/LR and fish into a rubbermaid tube with a heater and powerhead while you do the move. In the meantime, make sure you have plenty of aged SW that is the same temp and Ph of the tank water. Move your substrate over to the new tank and disgard the mucky water left in the bottom of the old tank. You will also need to add some additional substrate as the foot print of the new tank is likely larger. Put some of the new SW in the tank, put in the LR are you wish, add the livestock and the remaining water until full. Switching tanks is a PITB, but with proper planning it it is not too bad. Good luck!
__________________
Some people are like slinkies...they serve no real purpose yet can still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs!:p
Have a great day! Brian
lando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2007, 02:30 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
I agree...you will need a fair amount of new SW on hand. I went out and got a 32gallon rubbermade garbage can and a 32gallon rubbermade tote. I mixed SW up in both containers 2 days before my tank move. I reused about 2/3 of the original SW but I did several PWCs over the next few days just to make sure the water was ok. Don't forget to keep the water that you keep with the fish heated and moving!!!
__________________
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2007, 11:15 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Buckeye, AZ
Posts: 177
ok now my next ? is the tank is 12 1/2 wide 21 high and 48 long will this be a problem, since what I have read on this fourm everyone says a wider tank is better? I know that I will be limited to the size of fish and lr since it is so narrow.

Thanks I will be doing the switch next weekend as I have to first clean the tank since the person that I got it from did not keep it very clean as they had goldfish, cat, and angels in it.
__________________
SassyAngel111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2007, 12:12 AM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
There are pleanty of options for a 55g tank. You just have to be creative when arranging your LR. Check out some tanks that others have set up. I'm sure you can get some great ideas there!
__________________
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2007, 07:37 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Buckeye, AZ
Posts: 177
Ziggy, thanks I will and as soon as I get it up and running I will post pics. One last ? Alot of my rocks has sponges on them how would the best way to set the new tank up without loosing the sponges since they have to stay in water? BTW TIA
__________________
SassyAngel111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2007, 12:32 PM   #8
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,244
Once you get water in your tank get a big bowl and put the rock and water in there and drop it below the water line and then pull the rock out. Not all sponges will die if exposed to air but since we dont know what type you have then better safe than sorry. Another suggestion I have is that I would not transfer all the sand. IMO I would buy new sand and transfer a few cups of the old sand over to the new tank. Too much of the nasties in the old sand to transfer over IMO.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2007, 02:40 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Buckeye, AZ
Posts: 177
I had thought about that as well, not to use all of the sand from the old tank. Again thanks for the advice, and once it is up and running hopefuly in a month since I have to buy a new light system for this tank, it will take about 2 -3 weeks for me to get that and then it will be up and running.
__________________
SassyAngel111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2007, 12:42 AM   #10
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
I agree with Melosu Get some new sand. I have read a lot about sand and its "shelf life" in our systems. It is a contreversy of sorts some say that they have had the same sand for 5+ years where others have had their systems crash at the 3 year mark and a lot of the crashes are attributed to the sand being saturated with "yuck". One article I read said it is a good idea to remove some sand and replace it over the course of several months with water changes. I'm still up in the air here and since my tank is just over a year old I'm not going to worry too much about it yet.
__________________

__________________
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tan, upgrading, upgrading tank

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading tanks FloridaNewbie Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 1 08-23-2007 10:35 PM
Questions about upgrading tanks courtnee Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 02-15-2007 07:44 AM
Upgrading tanks - best way to cycle? smithw14 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 07-06-2006 02:01 AM
Upgrading Tanks - 29 to 55 and 10 to 29 noteworthy Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 07-11-2005 06:19 AM
Upgrading tanks 30 to 55 or 75? jeffs10 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 10-14-2004 12:16 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.