Upgrading to a Larger Aquarium

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

alex787

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
i have a 55 gallon reef Aquarium and i want to upgrade to a 240 gallon aquarium. My 55 gallon Aquarium has live sand, live rocks, corals and fish can any one give me tips or help me on how to move all this to my new 240 gallon aquarium:banghead::fish1:

I'm no expert by any means- but I'd say cycle the larger tank, then slowly acclimate everything over. You are going to need a lot more sand and rock for the 200+gallon so it will be mostly set up before carrying over the older stock. I'd just treat it like you have a new tank and starting over then treat the old tank like a LFS slowly adding to the new tank. Lol

Wow wht an upgrade!! I just moved from a 55 to a 75, and I thought that was big ;)

I set up and cycled my 75 ( took about a month) and moved everything over from the 55 to the 75 once the cycle was done. I did however purchase new sand, and some new rock ( dont have to get new rock if you dotn want to, but ditch the sand, except use a handful or two to help cycle the new tank) I did use some old rock as well.

I was in no hurry to move, so I took my time. It depends on what you need to do how quickly.. but I would definatly suggest that method.. nothing died and everything is actually thriving in the new aquarium.

Good luck!

i need to move everything quickly into the new tank. but i what to move everything from my 55 to the 240. i have about 150lb of live rock and about 120lb of live sand in the 55 gallon

Not to mention the torture of the fish :(. If it's cycled though, just acclimate everything like you just got it from the LFS.
my 2 cents